Brugge 0 – Porto 4: Home side humiliated by travelling the Jan Breydel Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Porto delivered a resounding 4-0 victory against Brugge on Wednesday, at the Jan Breydel Stadium. Brugge were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Atletico Madrid in their previous game while Porto were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Bayer Leverkusen and Bayer Leverkusen. Brugge and Porto sit 1st, (10 points) and 2nd, (9 points), in the league respectively, after 5 matches.

Porto started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Mehdi Taremi opened the rout, at 33 minutes to see out the first half 1-0.

Porto continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Evanilson on the 57 minute mark. Porto looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Stephen Eustaquio, 60 minutes in to establish a 3-0. Porto then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a second effort from Mehdi Taremi on the 70 minute mark to give a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Brugge included Bjorn Meijer, Dedryck Boyata, Antonio Eromonsele Nordby Nusa, Eder Balanta and Lynnt Audoor for Denis Odoi, Abakar Sylla, Andreas Olsen, Raphael Onyedika and Casper Nielsen, respectively. Porto brought on Wendell, Bruno Costa, Gabriel Veron, Toni Martinez and Rodrigo Conceicao, to replace Zaidu Sanusi, Stephen Eustaquio, Wenderson Galeno, Pepe and Evanilson.

There were bookings for Denis Odoi, Abakar Sylla and Raphael Onyedika from Brugge, and Stephen Eustaquio, Otavio, David Carmo and Mateus Uribe, for Porto.

Brugge will play away against Bayer Leverkusen, while Porto will face Atletico Madrid at home.

Technical card:
Club Brugge:Simon Mignolet, Denis Odoi (Bjorn Meijer, min.71), Brandon Mechele, Abakar Sylla (Dedryck Boyata, min.71), Tajon Buchanan, Hans Vanaken, Raphael Onyedika (Eder Balanta, min.80), Casper Nielsen (Lynnt Audoor, min.80), Andreas Olsen (Antonio Eromonsele Nordby Nusa, min.72), Ferran Jutgla and Noa Lang
Porto:Diogo Costa, Pepe (Toni Martinez, min.88), Fabio Cardoso, David Carmo, Zaidu Sanusi (Wendell, min.77), Otavio, Stephen Eustaquio (Bruno Costa, min.77), Mateus Uribe, Wenderson Galeno (Gabriel Veron, min.78), Evanilson (Rodrigo Conceicao, min.88) and Mehdi Taremi
Stadium:the Jan Breydel Stadium
Goals:Mehdi Taremi (0-1, min. 33), Evanilson (0-2, min. 57), Stephen Eustaquio (0-3, min. 60) and Mehdi Taremi (0-4, min. 70)