Atletico Madrid 2-1 Porto: Greizmann with a late winner for Los Colchoneros

Atletico Madrid vs Porto
Photo Credit: AP

Porto lost their first match in the new Champions League campaign against Atletico Madrid. Today’s result, Atleti and Porto currently occupy 1st and 3rd spots in the table, with 3 points and 0 points respectively after 1 match.

After a goalless first half, Atleti applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Mario Hermoso, 90 minutes in. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Mateus Uribe in the 90th minute, brought Porto level. In the end though, Los Colchoneros took the victory following a Antoine Griezmann goal just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Atleti included Rodrigo De Paul, Thomas Lemar, Antoine Griezmann, Mario Hermoso and Angel Correa for Nahuel Molina, Yannick Carrasco, Saul Niguez, Alvaro Morata and Joao Felix, respectively. Porto brought on Joao Mario, Bruno Costa, Toni Martinez and Gabriel Veron, to replace Pepe, Otavio, Evanilson and Wenderson Galeno.

The referee booked Koke and Mario Hermoso from Atleti. Porto had the worst of it though, with Pepe, Mateus Uribe and Mehdi Taremi seeing yellow, and Mehdi Taremi (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

In the second round of action in the Champions League Atleti will play against Bayer Leverkusen away and Porto will play against Club Brugge at home.

Technical card:
Atletico Madrid:Jan Oblak, Nahuel Molina (Rodrigo De Paul, min.46), Reinildo Mandava, Axel Witsel, Jose Gimenez, Yannick Carrasco (Thomas Lemar, min.46), Saul Niguez (Antoine Griezmann, min.61), Koke, Marcos Llorente, Joao Felix (Angel Correa, min.72) and Alvaro Morata (Mario Hermoso, min.68)
Porto:Diogo Costa, Pepe (Joao Mario, min.62), Pepe (Joao Mario, min.62), David Carmo, Zaidu Sanusi, Otavio (Bruno Costa, min.77), Mateus Uribe, Stephen Eustaquio, Wenderson Galeno (Gabriel Veron, min.89), Evanilson (Toni Martinez, min.78) and Mehdi Taremi
Stadium:Civitas Metropolitano
Goals:Mario Hermoso (1-0, min. 90), Mateus Uribe (1-1, min. 90) and Antoine Griezmann (2-1, min. 90)