Atletico Madrid 2-2 Bayer Leverkusen: Los Colchoneros locked into a draw

Photo Credit: AP

Atleti were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Bayer on Wednesday at Civitas Metropolitano. Atleti were looking for a victory after a scoreless draw against Club Brugge in their previous match. Bayer were beaten 3-0 in their previous match against Porto. Atleti are now in 3rd place, with 5 points from 5 matches, while Bayer sit in 4th, with 4 points from 5.

The Company’s Eleven found the net first, when Moussa Diaby gave them the lead, at 9 minutes. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Yannick Carrasco producing an equaliser in the 22nd minute, bringing Atleti level. However, Bayer found the back of the net via a Callum Hudson-Odoi goal on the 29 minute mark, finishing the first half 2-1.

Los Colchoneros staged a comeback in the second half, with an early goal from Rodrigo De Paul in the 50th minute, seing the match finish 2-2.

Substitutions for Atleti included Saul Niguez, Rodrigo De Paul, Matheus Cunha and Joao Felix for Mario Hermoso, Angel Correa, Alvaro Morata and Jose Gimenez, respectively. Bayer brought on Amine Adli, Jonathan Tah, Paulinho and Timothy Fosu-Mensah, to replace Callum Hudson-Odoi, Edmond Tapsoba, Moussa Diaby and Adam Hlozek.

There were bookings for Jose Gimenez and Geoffrey Kondogbia from Atleti. For Bayer, Lukas Hradecky, Mitchel Bakker and Piero Hincapie saw yellow.

Atleti will play their next fixture away against Porto, while Bayer will face Club Brugge at home.

Technical card:
Atletico Madrid:Jan Oblak, Nahuel Molina, Mario Hermoso (Saul Niguez, min.46), Jose Gimenez (Joao Felix, min.87), Reinildo Mandava, Angel Correa (Rodrigo De Paul, min.46), Axel Witsel, Geoffrey Kondogbia, Yannick Carrasco, Alvaro Morata (Matheus Cunha, min.61) and Antoine Griezmann
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Piero Hincapie, Edmond Tapsoba (Jonathan Tah, min.60), Odilon Kossounou, Jeremie Frimpong, Robert Andrich, Nadiem Amiri, Mitchel Bakker, Adam Hlozek (Timothy Fosu-Mensah, min.89), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Amine Adli, min.60) and Moussa Diaby (Paulinho, min.77)
Stadium:Civitas Metropolitano
Goals:Moussa Diaby (0-1, min. 9), Yannick Carrasco (1-1, min. 22), Callum Hudson-Odoi (1-2, min. 29) and Rodrigo De Paul (2-2, min. 50)