Ajax 4-0 Rangers: The Gers torn apart by slick Ajax in Amsterdam

Ajax vs Rangers
Photo Credit: AP

Rangers lost their first match in the new Champions League campaign against Ajax. Today’s result, Ajax are now in 1st place, with 3 points from 1 match, while Rangers sit in 4th, with 0 points from 1.

Ajax started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Edson Alvarez opened the rout in the 17th minute. The momentum was again with Ajax, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Steven Berghuis on the 32 minute mark to establish a 2-0 result. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Mohammed Kudus, 33 minutes in and saw the first half out 3-0.

Ajax continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Steven Bergwijn found the net on the 80 minute mark. When the final whistle blew, the result was 4-0 to Ajax.

Substitutions for Ajax included Youri Baas, Lucas Ocampos, Davy Klaassen, Jorge Sanchez and Brian Brobbey for Daley Blind, Steven Bergwijn, Steven Berghuis, Edson Alvarez and Mohammed Kudus, respectively. Rangers brought on Leon Thomas King, Rabbi Matondo, Ryan Jack and Steven Davis, to replace James Tavernier, Scott Wright, Malik Tillman and Glen Kamara.

The referee booked one player from Rangers, Ryan Jack.

In the second round of action in the Champions League Ajax will travel to play Liverpool and Rangers will play Napoli at home.

Technical card:
Ajax:Remko Pasveer, Devyne Rensch, Calvin Ughelumba, Jurrien Timber, Daley Blind (Youri Baas, min.82), Steven Berghuis (Davy Klaassen, min.82), Edson Alvarez (Jorge Sanchez, min.88), Kenneth Taylor, Dusan Tadic, Mohammed Kudus (Brian Brobbey, min.89) and Steven Bergwijn (Lucas Ocampos, min.82)
Rangers:Jon Mclaughlin, James Tavernier (Leon Thomas King, min.46), Connor Goldson, James Sands, Borna Barisic, Malik Tillman (Ryan Jack, min.46), Glen Kamara (Steven Davis, min.78), Scott Wright (Rabbi Matondo, min.46), John Lundstram, Ryan Kent and Antonio Colak
Stadium:Johan Cruijff Arena
Goals:Edson Alvarez (1-0, min. 17), Steven Berghuis (2-0, min. 32), Mohammed Kudus (3-0, min. 33) and Steven Bergwijn (4-0, min. 80)