Wolfsburg 2-2 Werder 2: Bremen fail to hold out for an away win

Photo Credit: AP

Wolfsburg opens Bundesliga season with 2-2 draw against Werder. Today’s result, leave both teams on 1 point and sitting in 6th and 5th positions respectively, after their first match.

The first half of the match started well for Wolfsburg, when Lukas Nmecha found the net, 11 minutes in. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Niclas Fullkrug managed to equalize and take the sides off, 21 minutes in at 1-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Leonardo Bittencourt made it 2-1 at the 23 minute mark, ending the first half 2-1.

The Wolves took the lead in the second half, when Josuha Guilavogui found the net at the 84 minute mark. The match ended wih a 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Wolfsburg included Josuha Guilavogui, Jonas Wind, Luca Waldschmidt, Jakub Kaminski and Max Kruse for Mattias Svanberg, Josip Brekalo, Omar Marmoush, Patrick Wimmer and Ridle Baku, repectively. Werder brought on Lee Buchanan, Nicolai Rapp, Felix Agu and Oliver Burke, to replace Anthony Jung, Leonardo Bittencourt, Mitchell Weiser and Niclas Fullkrug.

There were bookings for Micky Van de Ven and Lukas Nmecha from Wolfsburg. For Werder, Mitchell Weiser and Amos Pieper saw yellow.

In the second round of action in the Bundesliga Wolfsburg will play against Bayern Munich away and Werder will play against Stuttgart at home.

Technical card:
Wolfsburg:Koen Casteels, Ridle Baku (Max Kruse, min.76), Maxence Lacroix, Sebastiaan Bornauw, Micky Van de Ven, Patrick Wimmer (Jakub Kaminski, min.67), Josip Brekalo (Jonas Wind, min.56), Mattias Svanberg (Josuha Guilavogui, min.46), Maximilian Arnold, Omar Marmoush (Luca Waldschmidt, min.67) and Lukas Nmecha
Werder Bremen:Jiri Pavlenka, Marco Friedl, Milos Veljkovic, Amos Pieper, Mitchell Weiser (Felix Agu, min.76), Jens Stage, Leonardo Bittencourt (Nicolai Rapp, min.76), Christian Gross, Anthony Jung (Lee Buchanan, min.69), Marvin Ducksch and Niclas Fullkrug (Oliver Burke, min.80)
Stadium:the Volkswagen Arena
Goals:Lukas Nmecha (1-0, min. 11), Niclas Fullkrug (1-1, min. 21), Leonardo Bittencourt (1-2, min. 23) and Josuha Guilavogui (2-2, min. 84)