Bayer 2-0 Stuttgart: Leverkusen ease to victory over The Reds

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen eased past Stuttgart in a 2-0 victory on Saturday at the Bay Arena. Both teams arrived on the back of wins. Bayer were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches against FC Köln away and Union Berlin at home, by 2-1 and 5-0 respectively while Stuttgart were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Hertha in their last match. Bayer and Stuttgart currently occupy 11th and 16th spots in the table, with 18 points and 14 points respectively after 15 matches.

Bayer started the match strongly, when Moussa Diaby gave them the lead, 30 minutes in and the first half ended 1-0.

The Company’s Eleven continued to pile on the pressure in the second period, when Jonathan Tah found the net, 82 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-0.

Substitutions for Bayer included Adam Hlozek, Karim Bellarabi, Daley Sinkgraven, Timothy Fosu-Mensah and Ayman Azhil for Amine Adli, Moussa Diaby, Nadiem Amiri, Jeremie Frimpong and Kerem Demirbay, respectively. Stuttgart brought on Luca Pfeiffer, Tanguy Coulibaly, Laurin Ulrich and Juan Jose Perea for Tiago Tomas, Josha Vagnoman, Enzo Millot and Chris Fuhrich.

There were bookings for Nadiem Amiri and Adam Hlozek from Bayer. For Stuttgart, Dan-Axel Zagadou, Chris Fuhrich and Tiago Tomas saw yellow.

Bayer will next travel to B Mönchengladbach, while Stuttgart will face Mainz at home.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Piero Hincapie, Edmond Tapsoba, Jonathan Tah, Jeremie Frimpong (Timothy Fosu-Mensah, min.90), Kerem Demirbay (Ayman Azhil, min.90), Exequiel Palacios, Mitchel Bakker, Moussa Diaby (Karim Bellarabi, min.86), Nadiem Amiri (Daley Sinkgraven, min.87) and Amine Adli (Adam Hlozek, min.59)
Stuttgart:Florian Muller, Waldemar Anton, Dan-Axel Zagadou, Hiroki Ito, Josha Vagnoman (Tanguy Coulibaly, min.67), Atakan Karazor, Naouirou Ahamada, Chris Fuhrich (Juan Jose Perea, min.84), Sehrou Guirassy, Tiago Tomas (Luca Pfeiffer, min.66) and Enzo Millot (Laurin Ulrich, min.84)
Stadium:the Bay Arena
Goals:Moussa Diaby (1-0, min. 30) and Jonathan Tah (2-0, min. 82)