Stuttgart 1-1 Schalke: Honours even at Mercedes Benz Arena

Photo Credit: AP

Stuttgart were helde ach other to a 1-1 draw by Schalke on Saturday at Mercedes Benz Arena. Stuttgart were looking for a victory after a scoreless draw against FC Köln in their previous match, while Schalke had lost their previous match against Union Berlin. Stuttgart and Schalke currently occupy 12th and 15th spots in the table, with 4 points and 3 points respectively after 5 matches.

Stuttgart started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to a goal from Chris Fuhrich, 18 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Simon Terodde equalised for Schalke, 21 minutes in to see out the first half 1-1. The second half ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Stuttgart included Tiago Tomas, Enzo Millot, Pascal Stenzel, Atakan Karazor and Sehrou Guirassy for Lilian Egloff, Borna Sosa, Chris Fuhrich, Naouirou Ahamada and Silas Wamangituka, respectively. Schalke brought on Tobias Mohr, Sebastian Polter, Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez and Florent Mollet, to replace Thomas Ouwejan, Simon Terodde, Jordan Larsson and Dominick Drexler.

The referee booked Josha Vagnoman, Borna Sosa and Konstantinos Mavropanos from Stuttgart and Josha Vagnoman (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Schalke’s Dominick Drexler and Marius Bulter also received a yellow.

Stuttgart will next travel to Bayern Munich, while Schalke will face Bochum at home.

Technical card:
Stuttgart:Florian Muller, Konstantinos Mavropanos, Waldemar Anton, Hiroki Ito, Josha Vagnoman, Naouirou Ahamada (Atakan Karazor, min.83), Chris Fuhrich (Pascal Stenzel, min.76), Wataru Endo, Borna Sosa (Enzo Millot, min.63), Silas Wamangituka (Sehrou Guirassy, min.83) and Lilian Egloff (Tiago Tomas, min.63)
Schalke:Alexander Schwolow, Cedric Brunner, Maya Yoshida, Sepp Van den Berg, Thomas Ouwejan (Tobias Mohr, min.46), Marius Bulter, Florian Flick, Jordan Larsson (Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez, min.65), Tom Krauss, Dominick Drexler (Florent Mollet, min.74) and Simon Terodde (Sebastian Polter, min.65)
Stadium:Mercedes Benz Arena
Goals:Chris Fuhrich (1-0, min. 18) and Simon Terodde (1-1, min. 21)