Stuttgart 2-1 Hertha: Mavropanos wins it for Stuttgart in final minute

Photo Credit: AP

Stuttgart banked all three points against the Hertha in a 2-1 victory on Tuesday, at the Mercedes Benz Arena. Both Stuttgart and Hertha arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Stuttgart were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 3-1 to B Mönchengladbach. Hertha had lost their previous match against Bayern Munich. Stuttgart and Hertha are 13th, (14 points) and 16th, (11 points), spots respectively, after 14 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Stuttgart, with an early goal from Sehrou Guirassy in the 3rd minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as Dodi Lukebakio equalised for The Old Lady, 19 minutes in. The score at break remained 1-1.

The Reds once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Konstantinos Mavropanos just before the full time, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Stuttgart included Enzo Millot, Josha Vagnoman, Luca Pfeiffer and Atakan Karazor for Lilian Egloff, Tiago Tomas, Silas Wamangituka and Wataru Endo, respectively. Hertha brought on Ivan Sunjic, Chidera Ejuke and Wilfried Kanga, to replace Suat Serdar, Marco Richter and Davie Selke.

There were bookings for Konstantinos Mavropanos, Lilian Egloff and Borna Sosa from Stuttgart, and Marc Kempf and Marco Richter, for Hertha.

Stuttgart will next travel to Bayer Leverkusen, while Hertha will face FC Köln at home.

Technical card:
Stuttgart:Florian Muller, Waldemar Anton, Hiroki Ito, Konstantinos Mavropanos, Borna Sosa, Tiago Tomas (Josha Vagnoman, min.74), Wataru Endo (Atakan Karazor, min.83), Naouirou Ahamada, Lilian Egloff (Enzo Millot, min.64), Sehrou Guirassy and Silas Wamangituka (Luca Pfeiffer, min.74)
Hertha:Oliver Christensen, Jonjoe Kenny, Agustin Rogel, Marc Kempf, Marvin Plattenhardt, Marco Richter (Chidera Ejuke, min.61), Suat Serdar (Ivan Sunjic, min.61), Lucas Tousart, Jean-Paul Boetius, Davie Selke (Wilfried Kanga, min.61) and Dodi Lukebakio
Stadium:the Mercedes Benz Arena
Goals:Sehrou Guirassy (1-0, min. 3), Dodi Lukebakio (1-1, min. 19) and Konstantinos Mavropanos (2-1, min. 90)