Schalke 3-1 Bochum: First win of the season claimed by The Royal Blues

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Bochum suffered an away defeat to Schalke at the Veltins-Arena. Schalke arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 1-1 draw against Stuttgart. Bochum had lost their previous match against Werder Bremen. Schalke and Bochum are 17th, (3 points) and 18th, (0 points), in the table respectively, after 6 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Schalke, when Dominick Drexler found the net, at 38 minutes, concluding the first half 1-0.

Bochum started the second half with an intensified spirit, when Simon Zoller found the net, at 51 minutes. However, each side looked hungry to win and The Royal Blues then found the back of the net, 73 minutes in thanks to Erhan Masovic, taking the score to 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Sebastian Polter made it 3-1 just before the full time to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Schalke included Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez, Sebastian Polter, Kenan Karaman and Leo Greiml for Jordan Larsson, Dominick Drexler, Simon Terodde and Tom Krauss, respectively. Bochum brought on Gerrit Holtmann, Saidy Janko, Patrick Osterhage, Jordi Osei-Tutu and Silvere Ganvoula for Takuma Asano, Cristian Gamboa, Simon Zoller, Philipp Forster and Danilo Soares.

There were bookings for Alexander Schwolow and Florian Flick from Schalke, and Simon Zoller, Anthony Losilla and Danilo Soares, for Bochum.

Schalke will play away against Borussia Dortmund, while Bochum will face FC Köln at home.

Technical card:
Schalke:Alexander Schwolow, Henning Matriciani, Maya Yoshida, Sepp Van den Berg, Tobias Mohr, Jordan Larsson (Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez, min.57), Florian Flick, Tom Krauss (Leo Greiml, min.87), Dominick Drexler (Sebastian Polter, min.68), Marius Bulter and Simon Terodde (Kenan Karaman, min.87)
Bochum:Manuel Riemann, Cristian Gamboa (Saidy Janko, min.46), Erhan Masovic, Vasilis Lampropoulos, Danilo Soares (Silvere Ganvoula, min.85), Simon Zoller (Patrick Osterhage, min.77), Kevin Stoger, Anthony Losilla, Philipp Forster (Jordi Osei-Tutu, min.78), Takuma Asano (Gerrit Holtmann, min.4) and Philipp Hofmann
Stadium:the Veltins-Arena
Goals:Dominick Drexler (1-0, min. 38), Simon Zoller (1-1, min. 51), Erhan Masovic (2-1, min. 73) and Sebastian Polter (3-1, min. 90)