Freiburg 1-3 Dortmund: Die Borussen jubilant after away win against Breisgau Brazilians

Photo Credit: AP

Freiburg were defeated at home by Borussia Dortmund at Europa-Park-Stadion on Friday. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Freiburg had been hopeful of continuing their run, following a 4-0 victory against Augsburg. Dortmund were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Bayer Leverkusen in their last match. As the table looks today, Freiburg and Dortmund currently occupy 3rd and 1st spots in the table, with 3 points and 6 points respectively after 2 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Freiburg, when Michael Gregoritsch gave Breisgau Brazilians the lead in the 35th minute, finishing the first half 1-0.

Dortmund continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Jamie Bynoe-Gittens in the 77th minute. The momentum was now with Dortmund, who then scored again through a goal from Youssoufa Moukoko at the 84 minute mark to establish a 2-1. Die Borussen then netted again and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Marius Wolf just before the final whistle to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Freiburg included Nils Petersen, Noah Weisshaupt and Daniel-Kofi Kyereh for Michael Gregoritsch, Vincenzo Grifo and Ritsu Doan, repectively. Dortmund replaced Marius Wolf, Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, Youssoufa Moukoko and Julian Brandt with Thomas Meunier, Thorgan Hazard, Donyell Malen and Mahmoud Dahoud.

There were bookings for Daniel-Kofi Kyereh from Freiburg, and Thomas Meunier, Jude Bellingham and Nico Schlotterbeck, for Dortmund.

Freiburg will next travel to Stuttgart, while Dortmund will face Werder Bremen at home.

Technical card:
SC Freiburg:Mark Flekken, Kiliann Sildillia, Philipp Lienhart, Matthias Ginter, Christian Gunter, Ritsu Doan (Daniel-Kofi Kyereh, min.85), Roland Sallai, Maximilian Eggestein, Nicolas Hofler, Vincenzo Grifo (Noah Weisshaupt, min.85) and Michael Gregoritsch (Nils Petersen, min.74)
Borussia Dortmund:Gregor Kobel, Thomas Meunier (Marius Wolf, min.46), Nico Schlotterbeck, Mats Hummels, Raphael Guerreiro, Marco Reus, Mahmoud Dahoud (Julian Brandt, min.76), Jude Bellingham, Anthony Modeste, Donyell Malen (Youssoufa Moukoko, min.70) and Thorgan Hazard (Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, min.64)
Goals:Michael Gregoritsch (1-0, min. 35), Jamie Bynoe-Gittens (1-1, min. 77), Youssoufa Moukoko (1-2, min. 84) and Marius Wolf (1-3, min. 88)