Leipzig 3 – Freiburg 1: Home fans rewarded with victory at Red Bull Arena

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, SC Freiburg suffered an away defeat to RB Leipzig at Red Bull Arena. Both sides arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Leipzig were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Hoffenheim away (3-1), the other to Bayer Leverkusen at home (2-0) while Freiburg were coming from consecutive wins against FC Köln and Schalke. Leipzig are now in 5th place on the table and have 25 points while Freiburg sit in 3rd with 27 points after 14 matches.

Following a goalless first half, Leipzig certainly were out of the blocks quickly in the second half, when Mohamed Simakan found the net in the 54th minute. The Red Bulls looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Christopher Nkunku in the 56th minute to establish a 2-0. However, Freiburg refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Lukas Kubler on the 66 minute mark. Leipzig increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Emil Forsberg, 78 minutes in. The final result, Leipzig 3, Freiburg 1.

Substitutions for Leipzig included Benjamin Henrichs, Emil Forsberg, Yussuf Poulsen, Amadou Haidara and David Raum for Josko Gvardiol, Dani Olmo, Dominik Szoboszlai, Kevin Kampl and Andre Silva, respectively. Freiburg brought on Roland Sallai, Kevin Schade, Vincenzo Grifo, Lucas Holer and Yannik Keitel for Christian Gunter, Michael Gregoritsch, Ritsu Doan, Woo-yeong Jeong and Nicolas Hofler.

There were bookings for Christopher Nkunku from Leipzig. For Freiburg, Ritsu Doan, Woo-yeong Jeong, Kiliann Sildillia and Roland Sallai saw yellow.

Leipzig will next travel to Werder Bremen, while Freiburg will face Union Berlin at home.

Technical card:
RB Leipzig:Janis Blaswich, Mohamed Simakan, Josko Gvardiol (Benjamin Henrichs, min.24), Willi Orban, Marcel Halstenberg, Dominik Szoboszlai (Yussuf Poulsen, min.83), Kevin Kampl (Amadou Haidara, min.83), Xaver Schlager, Dani Olmo (Emil Forsberg, min.60), Christopher Nkunku and Andre Silva (David Raum, min.83)
SC Freiburg:Mark Flekken, Lukas Kubler, Matthias Ginter, Philipp Lienhart, Kiliann Sildillia, Maximilian Eggestein, Nicolas Hofler (Yannik Keitel, min.83), Christian Gunter (Roland Sallai, min.56), Michael Gregoritsch (Kevin Schade, min.56), Woo-yeong Jeong (Lucas Holer, min.60) and Ritsu Doan (Vincenzo Grifo, min.60)
Stadium:Red Bull Arena
Goals:Mohamed Simakan (1-0, min. 54), Christopher Nkunku (2-0, min. 56), Lukas Kubler (2-1, min. 66) and Emil Forsberg (3-1, min. 78)