Mainz 0-3 Bayer Leverkusen: Frimpong brace helps The Company’s Eleven to seal away win

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen eased past Mainz in a 3-0 victory on Saturday at the OPEL Arena. Mainz were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Bayer were beaten 3-0 in the previous match against Hoffenheim. After today’s result, Mainz and Bayer currently occupy 7th and 11th spots in the table, with 7 points and 3 points respectively after 4 matches.

It was an impressive opening from The Company’s Eleven, when Jonathan Michael Burkardt opened the rout at the 29 minute mark. The momentum was now with Bayer, who then scored again through a goal from Jeremie Frimpong, 39 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Jeremie Frimpong made it 3-0 just before halftime to see out the first half 3-0. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 3-0.

Substitutions for Mainz included Lee Jae Sung, Niklas Tauer, Delano Burgzorg, Leandro Martins and Anthony Caci for Angelo Fulgini, Alexander Hack, Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Dominik Kohr and Aaron Martin, repectively. Bayer brought on Odilon Kossounou, Charles Aranguiz, Nadiem Amiri, Timothy Fosu-Mensah and Sardar Azmoun, to replace Jeremie Frimpong, Exequiel Palacios, Kerem Demirbay, Moussa Diaby and Patrik Schick.

The referee booked Delano Burgzorg from Mainz. Bayer had the worst of it though, with Piero Hincapie, Robert Andrich, Jeremie Frimpong and Mitchel Bakker seeing yellow, and Piero Hincapie (2 yellow cards) and Mitchel Bakker (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Mainz will next travel to B Mönchengladbach, while Bayer will face SC Freiburg at home.

Technical card:
Mainz:Robin Zentner, Maxim Leitsch, Alexander Hack (Niklas Tauer, min.46), Stefan Bell, Silvan Widmer, Anton Stach, Dominik Kohr (Leandro Martins, min.66), Aaron Martin (Anthony Caci, min.73), Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Delano Burgzorg, min.46), Angelo Fulgini (Lee Jae Sung, min.46) and Karim Onisiwo
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong (Odilon Kossounou, min.71), Edmond Tapsoba, Jonathan Tah, Piero Hincapie, Moussa Diaby (Timothy Fosu-Mensah, min.81), Exequiel Palacios (Charles Aranguiz, min.71), Robert Andrich, Kerem Demirbay (Nadiem Amiri, min.81), Mitchel Bakker and Patrik Schick (Sardar Azmoun, min.83)
Stadium:the OPEL Arena
Goals:Jonathan Michael Burkardt (0-1, min. 29), Jeremie Frimpong (0-2, min. 39) and Jeremie Frimpong (0-3, min. 41)