Hoffenheim 1-2 Werder Bremen: The River Islanders claim road success

Photo Credit: AP

Werder Bremen strolled past Hoffenheim with a 2-1 win on Friday at Prezero Arena. Hoffenheim were aiming to improve their league standing after a 1-1 draw against Hertha. Werder, meanwhile, were coming off the back of a 5-1 win against B Mönchengladbach. Hoffenheim and Werder are 6th, (14 points) and 4th, (15 points), in the table respectively, after 9 matches.

Werder dominated the first half, when Marvin Ducksch found the net, 18 minutes in. However, their lead was short-lived, as Munas Dabbur equalised for From Kraichgau region, 32 minutes in and saw the first half out 1-1.

The River Islanders continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Niclas Fullkrug gave them the lead just before the full time, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Hoffenheim included Pavel Kaderabek, Georginio Rutter, Jacob Bruun Larsen and Angelo Stiller for Robert Skov, Andrej Kramaric, Angelino and Dennis Geiger, respectively. Werder brought on Leonardo Bittencourt, Lee Buchanan, Amos Pieper and Jens Stage, to replace Ilia Gruev, Anthony Jung, Christian Gross and Romano Schmid.

There were bookings for Dennis Geiger, Kevin Vogt and Ozan Kabak from Hoffenheim. For Werder, Ilia Gruev, Marco Friedl and Leonardo Bittencourt saw yellow.

Hoffenheim will next play Schalke away, with Werder facing Mainz at home.

Technical card:
Hoffenheim:Oliver Baumann, Stanley Nsoki, Ozan Kabak, Kevin Vogt, Robert Skov (Pavel Kaderabek, min.66), Grischa Promel, Dennis Geiger (Angelo Stiller, min.88), Andrej Kramaric (Georginio Rutter, min.66), Angelino (Jacob Bruun Larsen, min.88), Christoph Baumgartner and Munas Dabbur
Werder Bremen:Jiri Pavlenka, Niklas Stark, Milos Veljkovic, Marco Friedl, Mitchell Weiser, Ilia Gruev (Leonardo Bittencourt, min.59), Romano Schmid (Jens Stage, min.90), Christian Gross (Amos Pieper, min.90), Anthony Jung (Lee Buchanan, min.75), Niclas Fullkrug and Marvin Ducksch
Stadium:Prezero Arena
Goals:Marvin Ducksch (0-1, min. 18), Munas Dabbur (1-1, min. 32) and Niclas Fullkrug (1-2, min. 87)