Hoffenheim 1-3 Leipzig: Home advantage neutralised by The Red Bulls

Photo Credit: AP

Hoffenheim on home loss to RB Leipzig at the Pre Zero Arena on Saturday. Hoffenheim were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 1-1 draw with FC Köln in their previous game. Leipzig were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-0 win against Bayer Leverkusen in their last match. Hoffenheim and Leipzig currently occupy 8th and 6th spots in the table, with 18 points and 19 points respectively after 13 matches.

Leipzig started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Christopher Nkunku found the net on the 17 minute mark, finishing the first half 1-0.

Hoffenheim fought back, with an early goal from Georginio Rutter in the 50th minute. However, each side looked hungry to win and The Red Bulls then found the back of the net, 57 minutes in thanks to Christopher Nkunku, taking the score to 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Dani Olmo made it 3-1, 69 minutes in to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Hoffenheim included Andrej Kramaric, Pavel Kaderabek, Angelo Stiller, Quaresma and Fisnik Asllani for Grischa Promel, Robert Skov, Jacob Bruun Larsen, Kevin Akpoguma and Dennis Geiger, respectively. Leipzig brought on Kevin Kampl, Emil Forsberg, Yussuf Poulsen, Hugo Novoa and Sanoussy Ba, to replace Dani Olmo, Andre Silva, Christopher Nkunku, Dominik Szoboszlai and Marcel Halstenberg.

There were bookings for Dennis Geiger, Kevin Akpoguma, Georginio Rutter and Stanley Nsoki from Hoffenheim. For Leipzig, Abdou Diallo and David Raum saw yellow.

Hoffenheim will next play Eintracht Frankfurt away, with Leipzig facing SC Freiburg at home.

Technical card:
Hoffenheim:Oliver Baumann, Kevin Vogt, Kevin Akpoguma (Quaresma, min.80), Stanley Nsoki, Robert Skov (Pavel Kaderabek, min.67), Grischa Promel (Andrej Kramaric, min.18), Dennis Geiger (Fisnik Asllani, min.80), Christoph Baumgartner, Angelino, Georginio Rutter and Jacob Bruun Larsen (Angelo Stiller, min.67)
RB Leipzig:Janis Blaswich, Marcel Halstenberg (Sanoussy Ba, min.90), Willi Orban, Josko Gvardiol, David Raum, Dominik Szoboszlai (Hugo Novoa, min.88), Xaver Schlager, Abdou Diallo, Dani Olmo (Kevin Kampl, min.76), Andre Silva (Emil Forsberg, min.76) and Christopher Nkunku (Yussuf Poulsen, min.88)
Stadium:the Pre Zero Arena
Goals:Christopher Nkunku (0-1, min. 17), Georginio Rutter (1-1, min. 50), Christopher Nkunku (1-2, min. 57) and Dani Olmo (1-3, min. 69)