Hoffenheim 4-1 Mainz: Hoffenheim up to fourth with impressive home win

Photo Credit: AP

Mainz on away loss to Hoffenheim at the Pre Zero Arena on Saturday. Hoffenheim were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 1-0 to Borussia Dortmund. Mainz had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 1-0 victory against B Mönchengladbach. Hoffenheim are now in 2nd place, with 12 points from 6 matches, while Mainz sit in 6th, with 10 points from 6.

After an uneventful first half, Hoffenheim certainly were out of the blocks quickly in the second half, when Andrej Kramaric gave them the lead, at 53 minutes. From Kraichgau region looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Grischa Promel in the 69th minute to establish a 2-0. Hoffenheim looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Munas Dabbur in the 80th minute to establish a 3-0. However, The 05ers refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Dominik Kohr in the 83rd minute. In the end though, Hoffenheim then grabbed a goal from Pavel Kaderabek just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 4-1.

Substitutions for Hoffenheim included Stanley Nsoki, Munas Dabbur, Sebastian Rudy, Angelino and Angelo Stiller for Kevin Akpoguma, Andrej Kramaric, Dennis Geiger, Robert Skov and Christoph Baumgartner, respectively. Mainz brought on Delano Burgzorg, Niklas Tauer, Lee Jae Sung, Edimilson Fernandes and Anthony Caci, to replace Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Delano Burgzorg, Angelo Fulgini, Leandro Martins and Aaron Martin.

The referee booked Christoph Baumgartner, Kevin Akpoguma and Kevin Vogt from Hoffenheim. Mainz had the worst of it though, with Karim Onisiwo and Stefan Bell seeing yellow, and Alexander Hack then sent off with a red.

Hoffenheim next face SC Freiburg while Mainz are at home to Hertha.

Technical card:
Hoffenheim:Oliver Baumann, Kevin Akpoguma (Stanley Nsoki, min.46), Kevin Vogt, Ozan Kabak, Pavel Kaderabek, Christoph Baumgartner (Angelo Stiller, min.84), Grischa Promel, Dennis Geiger (Sebastian Rudy, min.70), Robert Skov (Angelino, min.75), Andrej Kramaric (Munas Dabbur, min.70) and Georginio Rutter
Mainz:Robin Zentner, Maxim Leitsch, Alexander Hack, Stefan Bell, Silvan Widmer, Leandro Martins (Edimilson Fernandes, min.64), Dominik Kohr, Aaron Martin (Anthony Caci, min.75), Angelo Fulgini (Lee Jae Sung, min.64), Karim Onisiwo and Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Delano Burgzorg, min.14)
Stadium:the Pre Zero Arena
Goals:Andrej Kramaric (1-0, min. 53), Grischa Promel (2-0, min. 69), Munas Dabbur (3-0, min. 80), Dominik Kohr (3-1, min. 83) and Pavel Kaderabek (4-1, min. 90)