Hertha 2-2 Freiburg: The Old Lady held at the Olympiastadion by Breisgau Brazilians

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Hertha and Freiburg played out a 2-2 draw at the Olympiastadion. Hertha arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 1-1 draw against Hoffenheim. Freiburg were coming off the back of a 2-1 win against Mainz. Hertha are now in 14th place on the table and have 8 points while Freiburg sit in 1st with 18 points after 9 matches.

Breisgau Brazilians found the net first, when Daniel-Kofi Kyereh gave them the lead, 22 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Dodi Lukebakio equalised for Hertha, 34 minutes in, ending the first half 1-1.

The Old Lady took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Suat Serdar, 61 minutes in. In the end though, their lead was short-lived, as Kevin Schade equalised for Freiburg in the 78th minute, to level the score at 2-2.

Substitutions for Hertha included Marco Richter, Davie Selke and Kevin-Prince Boateng for Chidera Ejuke, Stevan Jovetic and Suat Serdar, respectively. Freiburg brought on Nils Petersen, Kevin Schade, Woo-yeong Jeong, Yannik Keitel and Lucas Holer, to replace Michael Gregoritsch, Vincenzo Grifo, Daniel-Kofi Kyereh, Maximilian Eggestein and Ritsu Doan.

There were bookings for Agustin Rogel and Jonjoe Kenny from Hertha. For Freiburg, Ritsu Doan saw yellow.

Next up, Hertha are away to RB Leipzig, whilst Freiburg will travel to face Bayern Munich.

Technical card:
Hertha:Oliver Christensen, Jonjoe Kenny, Marc Kempf, Agustin Rogel, Marvin Plattenhardt, Lucas Tousart, Ivan Sunjic, Suat Serdar (Kevin-Prince Boateng, min.84), Stevan Jovetic (Davie Selke, min.78), Chidera Ejuke (Marco Richter, min.58) and Dodi Lukebakio
SC Freiburg:Mark Flekken, Kiliann Sildillia, Philipp Lienhart, Matthias Ginter, Christian Gunter, Ritsu Doan (Lucas Holer, min.86), Daniel-Kofi Kyereh (Woo-yeong Jeong, min.76), Maximilian Eggestein (Yannik Keitel, min.76), Nicolas Hofler, Vincenzo Grifo (Kevin Schade, min.70) and Michael Gregoritsch (Nils Petersen, min.70)
Stadium:the Olympiastadion
Goals:Daniel-Kofi Kyereh (0-1, min. 22), Dodi Lukebakio (1-1, min. 34), Suat Serdar (2-1, min. 61) and Kevin Schade (2-2, min. 78)