Cologne 3-1 Schalke: Billy Goats power past Schalke in opener

Photo Credit: AP

Schalke lost their first match in the new Bundesliga campaign against FC Köln. Today’s result, leave both teams on 0 points and sitting in 11th and 12th positions respectively, after their first match.

Following a goalless first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Cologne who started the second half well, with an early goal from Luca Kilian in the 49th minute. The momentum was now with The Billy Goats, who then scored again through a goal from Florian Kainz, at 62 minutes to establish a 2-0. However, The Royal Blues weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Marius Bulter, 76 minutes in. In the end though, Cologne, 80 minutes in increased their advantage via a Alexander Schwolow goal and saw the match end 3-1.

Substitutions for Cologne included Sargis Adamyan, Linton Maina, Kristian Pedersen, Mathias Olesen and Tim Lemperle for Kingsley Schindler, Florian Kainz, Julian Chabot, Dejan Ljubicic and Florian Dietz, repectively. Schalke brought on Marius Bulter, Danny Latza, Florian Flick, Kerim Calhanoglu and Simon Terodde, to replace Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez, Tom Krauss, Tobias Mohr, Alex Kral and Sebastian Polter.

In the second round of action in the Bundesliga Cologne will travel to play RB Leipzig and Schalke will play B Mönchengladbach at home.

Technical card:
FC Köln:Marvin Schwabe, Benno Erik Schmitz, Luca Kilian, Julian Chabot (Kristian Pedersen, min.76), Jonas Hector, Kingsley Schindler (Sargis Adamyan, min.61), Dejan Ljubicic (Mathias Olesen, min.85), Ellyes Skhiri, Florian Kainz (Linton Maina, min.76), Florian Dietz (Tim Lemperle, min.86) and Jan Thielmann
Schalke:Alexander Schwolow, Cedric Brunner, Maya Yoshida, Marcin Kaminski, Thomas Ouwejan, Dominick Drexler, Tom Krauss (Danny Latza, min.77), Rodrigo Zalazar Martinez (Marius Bulter, min.58), Alex Kral (Kerim Calhanoglu, min.88), Tobias Mohr (Florian Flick, min.78) and Sebastian Polter (Simon Terodde, min.89)
Goals:Luca Kilian (1-0, min. 49), Florian Kainz (2-0, min. 62), Marius Bulter (2-1, min. 76) and Alexander Schwolow (3-1, min. 80)