Cologne 3-2 Augsburg: Points secured as The Billy Goats ease past Fuggerstädter

Photo Credit: AP

FC Köln’s 3-2 win over Augsburg on Sunday, was hard fought at the Rhein Energie Stadion. Cologne were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 5-2 to B Mönchengladbach while Augsburg had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Wolfsburg. Cologne are now in 7th place on the table and have 16 points while Augsburg sit in 12th with 13 points after 10 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Fuggerstädter, when Florian Niederlechner found the net, at 14 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Steffen Tigges equalised for The Billy Goats just before half-time, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Cologne once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Denis Huseinbasic found the net, 61 minutes in. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Daniel Caligiuri producing an equaliser, 68 minutes in, bringing Augsburg level. Cologne in turn, then responded, 81 minutes in increasing their lead with a second effort from Steffen Tigges. The match ended 3-2.

Substitutions for Cologne included Mark Uth, Sargis Adamyan, Kingsley Schindler and Florian Dietz for Ondrej Duda, Linton Maina, Denis Huseinbasic and Steffen Tigges, respectively. Augsburg brought on Daniel Caligiuri, Lukas Petkov, Mads Pedersen and Julian Baumgartlinger, to replace Ruben Vargas, Florian Niederlechner, Raphael Framberger and Carlos Gruezo.

There were bookings for Ondrej Duda and Mark Uth from Cologne, and Mergim Berisha, Ruben Vargas, Iago and Lukas Petkov, for Augsburg.

Cologne will next play Mainz away, with Augsburg facing RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
FC Köln:Marvin Schwabe, Benno Erik Schmitz, Timo Hubers, Luca Kilian, Jonas Hector, Eric Martel, Ondrej Duda (Mark Uth, min.72), Ellyes Skhiri, Denis Huseinbasic (Kingsley Schindler, min.78), Linton Maina (Sargis Adamyan, min.78) and Steffen Tigges (Florian Dietz, min.89)
Augsburg:Tomas Koubek, Raphael Framberger (Mads Pedersen, min.84), Robert Gumny, Frederik Winther, Iago, Ruben Vargas (Daniel Caligiuri, min.46), Elvis Rexhbecaj, Carlos Gruezo (Julian Baumgartlinger, min.84), Ermedin Demirovic, Mergim Berisha and Florian Niederlechner (Lukas Petkov, min.74)
Stadium:the Rhein Energie Stadion
Goals:Florian Niederlechner (0-1, min. 14), Steffen Tigges (1-1, min. 47), Denis Huseinbasic (2-1, min. 61), Daniel Caligiuri (2-2, min. 68) and Steffen Tigges (3-2, min. 81)