Dortmund 2-2 Bayern: Die Borussen battle to a point against Bayern

Photo Credit: AP

Dortmund were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Bayern on Saturday at the Signal Iduna Park. Dortmund arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 3-2 to FC Köln. Bayern were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-0 victory against Bayer Leverkusen. both teams are now on 16 points and sit in 4th and 3rd places respectively after 9 matches.

Bayern started the first half well, when Leon Goretzka gave them the lead, 33 minutes in to see out the first half 1-0.

The Reds staged a comeback in the second half, when Leroy Sane found the net on the 53 minute mark. However, Dortmund refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Youssoufa Moukoko after 74 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Anthony Modeste made it 2-2 just before the final whistle to give a final score of 2-2.

Substitutions for Dortmund included Marius Wolf, Karim Adeyemi, Anthony Modeste and Thorgan Hazard for Mats Hummels, Salih Ozcan, Donyell Malen and Youssoufa Moukoko, respectively. Bayern brought on Josip Stanisic, Kingsley Coman, Joshua Kimmich, Noussair Mazraoui and Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, to replace Alphonso Davies, Serge Gnabry, Marcel Sabitzer, Matthijs De Ligt and Sadio Mane.

The referee booked Jude Bellingham, Emre Can and Karim Adeyemi from Dortmund. Bayern had the worst of it though, with Marcel Sabitzer, Matthijs De Ligt, Leon Goretzka, Kingsley Coman and Leroy Sane seeing yellow, and Kingsley Coman (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Dortmund will next play Union Berlin away, with Bayern facing SC Freiburg at home.

Technical card:
Borussia Dortmund:Alexander Meyer, Niklas Sule, Nico Schlotterbeck, Mats Hummels (Marius Wolf, min.46), Raphael Guerreiro, Jude Bellingham, Salih Ozcan (Karim Adeyemi, min.54), Emre Can, Donyell Malen (Anthony Modeste, min.70), Julian Brandt and Youssoufa Moukoko (Thorgan Hazard, min.89)
Bayern Munich:Manuel Neuer, Benjamin Pavard, Matthijs De Ligt (Noussair Mazraoui, min.62), Dayot Upamecano, Alphonso Davies (Josip Stanisic, min.46), Leroy Sane, Jamal Musiala, Marcel Sabitzer (Joshua Kimmich, min.46), Leon Goretzka, Sadio Mane (Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, min.82) and Serge Gnabry (Kingsley Coman, min.46)
Stadium:the Signal Iduna Park
Goals:Leon Goretzka (0-1, min. 33), Leroy Sane (0-2, min. 53), Youssoufa Moukoko (1-2, min. 74) and Anthony Modeste (2-2, min. 90)