Bochum 2-1 Union Berlin: Visitors upset at the Vonovia Ruhrstadion

Photo Credit: AP

Bochum’s 2-1 win over Union Berlin on Sunday, was hard fought at Vonovia Ruhrstadion. Bochum were looking forward to playing again, following defeat to Stuttgart. Union Berlin were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Borussia Dortmund and Stuttgart. Bochum are now in 17th place on the table and have 7 points while Union Berlin sit in 1st with 23 points after 11 matches.

Bochum dominated the first half, when Philipp Hofmann gave them the lead just before half-time

Bochum continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Gerrit Holtmann found the net, at 71 minutes. In the end though, The Iron Ones hit back though via a Milos Pantovic goal just before the full time, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Bochum included Patrick Osterhage and Kostas Stafylidis for Christopher Antwi-Adjej and Philipp Forster, respectively. Union Berlin brought on Milos Pantovic, Julian Ryerson, Kevin Behrens, Jamie Leweling and Tim Skarke for Janik Haberer, Niko Giesselmann, Jordan Siebatcheu, Sheraldo Becker and Christopher Trimmel.

There were bookings for Ivan Ordets from Bochum. For Union Berlin, Paul Jaeckel, Julian Ryerson and Tim Skarke saw yellow.

Bochum will next play Wolfsburg away, with Union Berlin facing B Mönchengladbach at home.

Technical card:
Bochum:Manuel Riemann, Cristian Gamboa, Ivan Ordets, Erhan Masovic, Danilo Soares, Kevin Stoger, Anthony Losilla, Philipp Forster (Kostas Stafylidis, min.79), Jordi Osei-Tutu, Christopher Antwi-Adjej (Patrick Osterhage, min.79), Philipp Hofmann and Gerrit Holtmann
Union Berlin:Frederik Ronnow, Paul Jaeckel, Diogo Leite, Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel (Tim Skarke, min.71), Rani Khedira, Andras Schafer, Janik Haberer (Milos Pantovic, min.20), Niko Giesselmann (Julian Ryerson, min.63), Jordan Siebatcheu (Kevin Behrens, min.63) and Sheraldo Becker (Jamie Leweling, min.63)
Stadium:Vonovia Ruhrstadion
Goals:Philipp Hofmann (1-0, min. 43), Gerrit Holtmann (2-0, min. 71) and Milos Pantovic (2-1, min. 90)