Bayern 5-0 Freiburg: The Reds humble visiting Breisgau Brazilians with a five-star show

Photo Credit: AP

Bayern Munich on a 5-0 win against SC Freiburg on Sunday at the Allianz Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Bayern arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 2-2 draw against Borussia Dortmund. Freiburg, meanwhile, were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Bayern are now in 2nd place on the table and have 19 points while Freiburg sit in 3rd with 18 points after 10 matches.

The Reds started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Serge Gnabry opened the rout, 13 minutes in. Bayern then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, 33 minutes in, finishing the first half 2-0.

Bayern started the second half with renewed vigour, with a goal from Leroy Sane on the 52 minute mark. Bayern looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Sadio Mane, at 55 minutes to establish a 4-0. Bayern then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Marcel Sabitzer, 80 minutes in to make it 5-0.

Substitutions for Bayern included Jamal Musiala, Benjamin Pavard, Mathys Tel, Marcel Sabitzer and Josip Stanisic for Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Matthijs De Ligt, Leroy Sane, Leon Goretzka and Noussair Mazraoui, respectively. Freiburg replaced Vincenzo Grifo, Kevin Schade, Michael Gregoritsch, Nicolas Hofler and Ritsu Doan for Noah Weisshaupt, Woo-yeong Jeong, Nils Petersen, Yannik Keitel and Lucas Holer.

The referee booked Michael Gregoritsch and Kiliann Sildillia for Freiburg.

Bayern will next play Hoffenheim away, with Freiburg facing Werder Bremen at home.

Technical card:
Bayern Munich:Sven Ulreich, Noussair Mazraoui (Josip Stanisic, min.79), Dayot Upamecano, Matthijs De Ligt (Benjamin Pavard, min.76), Alphonso Davies, Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sane (Mathys Tel, min.76), Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka (Marcel Sabitzer, min.77), Sadio Mane and Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Jamal Musiala, min.66)
SC Freiburg:Mark Flekken, Kiliann Sildillia, Philipp Lienhart, Matthias Ginter, Christian Gunter, Kevin Schade (Woo-yeong Jeong, min.58), Nicolas Hofler (Yannik Keitel, min.64), Maximilian Eggestein, Ritsu Doan (Lucas Holer, min.77), Vincenzo Grifo (Noah Weisshaupt, min.58) and Michael Gregoritsch (Nils Petersen, min.58)
Stadium:the Allianz Arena
Goals:Serge Gnabry (1-0, min. 13), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (2-0, min. 33), Leroy Sane (3-0, min. 52), Sadio Mane (4-0, min. 55) and Marcel Sabitzer (5-0, min. 80)