Bayern Munich 1-1 Gladbach: Yann Sommer heroics earns the The Colts a point

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Bayern and Gladbach were held to a 1-1 draw at Allianz Arena. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Bayern were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games in the league. The most recent was against the Bochum away (7-0), the other to Wolfsburg at home (2-0). Gladbach, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Hertha in their last match. As the table looks today, Bayern are currently 2nd with 9 points from 4 matches, while Gladbach sit in 6th, with 7 points from 4.

The Colts started the first half well, when Marcus Thuram gave Gladbach the lead just before halftime and saw the first half out 1-0.

Bayern took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Leroy Sane, 83 minutes in, leaving the final score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Bayern included Jamal Musiala, Serge Gnabry and Matthijs De Ligt for Marcel Sabitzer, Sadio Mane and Leroy Sane, repectively. Gladbach brought on Hannes Wolf, Marvin Friedrich, Tony Jantschke and Patrick Herrmann for Alassane Plea, Florian Neuhaus, Kouadio Kone and Jonas Hofmann.

There were bookings for Joshua Kimmich, Marcel Sabitzer, Leroy Sane and Benjamin Pavard from Bayern. For Gladbach, Alassane Plea and Christoph Kramer saw yellow.

Bayern will next play Union Berlin away, with Gladbach facing Mainz at home.

Technical card:
Bayern Munich:Manuel Neuer, Benjamin Pavard, Dayot Upamecano, Lucas Hernandez, Alphonso Davies, Kingsley Coman, Joshua Kimmich, Marcel Sabitzer (Jamal Musiala, min.67), Leroy Sane (Matthijs De Ligt, min.85), Thomas Muller and Sadio Mane (Serge Gnabry, min.68)
B Mönchengladbach:Yann Sommer, Joe Scally, Ko Itakura, Nico Elvedi, Luca Netz, Jonas Hofmann (Patrick Herrmann, min.85), Christoph Kramer, Kouadio Kone (Tony Jantschke, min.84), Florian Neuhaus (Marvin Friedrich, min.77), Alassane Plea (Hannes Wolf, min.52) and Marcus Thuram
Stadium:Allianz Arena
Goals:Marcus Thuram (0-1, min. 43) and Leroy Sane (1-1, min. 83)