Bayer Leverkusen 5-0 Union Berlin: The Company’s Eleven thump Union

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen cruises against Union Berlin on a home win at the Bay Arena on Sunday. Bayer were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 2-0 to RB Leipzig. Union Berlin, meanwhile, were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against B Mönchengladbach in their last match. Bayer are now in 14th place, with 12 points from 13 matches, while Union Berlin sit in 2nd, with 26 points from 13.

Bayer started strongly in the first half, when Robert Andrich opened the rout just before half-time

The Company’s Eleven continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Moussa Diaby found the net, at 56 minutes. The momentum was again with Bayer, who then scored again courtesy of a 2nd effort from Moussa Diaby, 58 minutes in to establish a 3-0 result. Bayer looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Adam Hlozek, 68 minutes in to establish a 4-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Mitchel Bakker, at 76 minutes to give a final score of 5-0.

Substitutions for Bayer included Exequiel Palacios, Jonathan Tah, Amine Adli, Timothy Fosu-Mensah and Callum Hudson-Odoi for Kerem Demirbay, Edmond Tapsoba, Moussa Diaby, Adam Hlozek and Jeremie Frimpong, respectively. Union Berlin brought on Sven Michel, Kevin Behrens, Paul Seguin, Milos Pantovic and Tim Skarke, to replace Sheraldo Becker, Jordan Siebatcheu, Morten Thorsby, Rani Khedira and Janik Haberer.

There were bookings for Nadiem Amiri from Bayer, and Rani Khedira, Jordan Siebatcheu, Morten Thorsby and Diogo Leite, for Union Berlin.

Bayer will next travel to FC Köln, while Union Berlin will face Augsburg at home.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Piero Hincapie, Odilon Kossounou, Edmond Tapsoba (Jonathan Tah, min.69), Jeremie Frimpong (Callum Hudson-Odoi, min.78), Robert Andrich, Kerem Demirbay (Exequiel Palacios, min.55), Nadiem Amiri, Mitchel Bakker, Adam Hlozek (Timothy Fosu-Mensah, min.78) and Moussa Diaby (Amine Adli, min.69)
Union Berlin:Lennart Grill, Diogo Leite, Timo Baumgartl, Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel, Morten Thorsby (Paul Seguin, min.60), Rani Khedira (Milos Pantovic, min.69), Janik Haberer (Tim Skarke, min.75), Julian Ryerson, Jordan Siebatcheu (Kevin Behrens, min.60) and Sheraldo Becker (Sven Michel, min.59)
Stadium:the Bay Arena
Goals:Robert Andrich (1-0, min. 46), Moussa Diaby (2-0, min. 56), Moussa Diaby (3-0, min. 58), Adam Hlozek (4-0, min. 68) and Mitchel Bakker (5-0, min. 76)