Bayer Leverkusen 0-3 Hoffenheim: The Werskelf humbled at home

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer suffered a home defeat to Hoffenheim on Saturday at the Bay Arena. Bayer arrived at the match looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Augsburg. Hoffenheim were coming from a 3-2 win against Bochum. As it stands, Bayer and Hoffenheim currently occupy 18th and 5th spots in the league, with 0 points and 6 points respectively after 3 matches.

From Kraichgau region started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Christoph Baumgartner opened the rout, at 9 minutes. Hoffenheim then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Andrej Kramaric in the 35th minute, ending the first half 2-0.

Hoffenheim continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Georginio Rutter found the net at the 78 minute mark. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 3-0 to Hoffenheim.

Substitutions for Bayer included Kerem Demirbay, Exequiel Palacios, Paulinho, Nadiem Amiri and Mitchel Bakker for Adam Hlozek, Charles Aranguiz, Robert Andrich, Sardar Azmoun and Edmond Tapsoba, repectively. Hoffenheim brought on Pavel Kaderabek, Munas Dabbur, Sebastian Rudy, Jacob Bruun Larsen and Angelo Stiller, to replace Robert Skov, Christoph Baumgartner, Dennis Geiger, Andrej Kramaric and Georginio Rutter.

There were bookings for Moussa Diaby from Bayer. For Hoffenheim, Ozan Kabak, Georginio Rutter, Angelino and Kevin Akpoguma saw yellow.

Bayer will next play Mainz away, with Hoffenheim facing Augsburg at home.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Jonathan Tah, Edmond Tapsoba (Mitchel Bakker, min.76), Piero Hincapie, Moussa Diaby, Robert Andrich (Paulinho, min.66), Sardar Azmoun (Nadiem Amiri, min.76), Charles Aranguiz (Exequiel Palacios, min.46), Adam Hlozek (Kerem Demirbay, min.46) and Patrik Schick
Hoffenheim:Oliver Baumann, Kevin Vogt, Kevin Akpoguma, Ozan Kabak, Robert Skov (Pavel Kaderabek, min.69), Grischa Promel, Dennis Geiger (Sebastian Rudy, min.75), Christoph Baumgartner (Munas Dabbur, min.69), Angelino, Georginio Rutter (Angelo Stiller, min.86) and Andrej Kramaric (Jacob Bruun Larsen, min.85)
Stadium:the Bay Arena
Goals:Christoph Baumgartner (0-1, min. 9), Andrej Kramaric (0-2, min. 35) and Georginio Rutter (0-3, min. 78)