Bayer 1-2 Augsburg: Fuggerstädter claim three away points at Leverkusen

Photo Credit: AP

Augsburg eased past Bayer Leverkusen in a 2-1 victory on Saturday at the Bay Arena. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Bayer were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 1-0 to Borussia Dortmund. Augsburg lost 4-0 in the last match they played against SC Freiburg. As it stands, both teams are on 0 points and occupy 15th and 18th places respectively after 2 matches.

Augsburg started the first half well, when Fredrik Jensen found the net, at 15 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Charles Aranguiz equalised for The Company’s Eleven just before halftime, finishing the first half 1-1.

Fuggerstädter continued to apply pressure in the second, when Andre Hahn found the net, 82 minutes in. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-1 to Augsburg.

Substitutions for Bayer included Piero Hincapie, Kerem Demirbay, Amine Adli, Odilon Kossounou and Joel Pohjanpalo for Mitchel Bakker, Exequiel Palacios, Adam Hlozek, Jeremie Frimpong and Charles Aranguiz, repectively. Augsburg brought on Daniel Caligiuri, Florian Niederlechner, Andre Hahn, Maximilian Bauer and Ricardo Pepi, to replace Iago, Fredrik Jensen, Ermedin Demirovic, Arne Maier and Elvis Rexhbecaj.

There were bookings for Sardar Azmoun from Bayer. For Augsburg, Mads Pedersen, Ermedin Demirovic, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Elvis Rexhbecaj, Rafal Gikiewicz and Maximilian Bauer saw yellow.

Augsburg and Bayer will next play at home to Mainz and Hoffenheim respectively.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen:Andrey Lunev, Jeremie Frimpong (Odilon Kossounou, min.87), Edmond Tapsoba, Jonathan Tah, Mitchel Bakker (Piero Hincapie, min.62), Moussa Diaby, Charles Aranguiz (Joel Pohjanpalo, min.87), Sardar Azmoun, Exequiel Palacios (Kerem Demirbay, min.62), Adam Hlozek (Amine Adli, min.62) and Patrik Schick
Augsburg:Rafal Gikiewicz, Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Robert Gumny, Mads Pedersen, Arne Maier (Maximilian Bauer, min.88), Carlos Gruezo, Elvis Rexhbecaj (Ricardo Pepi, min.90), Iago (Daniel Caligiuri, min.65), Ermedin Demirovic (Andre Hahn, min.65) and Fredrik Jensen (Florian Niederlechner, min.65)
Stadium:the Bay Arena
Goals:Fredrik Jensen (0-1, min. 15), Charles Aranguiz (1-1, min. 43) and Andre Hahn (1-2, min. 82)