Gladbach 3-1 Stuttgart: Late Herrmann strike seals the deal for The Colts

Photo Credit: AP

Stuttgart fell to an away defeat at the hands of B Mönchengladbach at the Borussia Park on Friday. Gladbach were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 2-1 to Union Berlin in their last fixture. Stuttgart had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-1 victory against Augsburg. Gladbach and Stuttgart currently occupy 11th and 15th spots in the league, with 16 points and 11 points respectively after 13 matches.

The Colts started the first half well, with an early goal from Jonas Hofmann in the 4th minute. Gladbach looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Marcus Thuram, at 25 minutes to establish a 2-0. The Reds in turn, then responded, 35 minutes in, grabbing the lead with an effort from Tiago Tomas, concluding the first half 2-1.

Gladbach once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Patrick Herrmann just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 3-1.

Substitutions for Gladbach included Lars Stindl, Luca Netz and Patrick Herrmann for Tony Jantschke, Alassane Plea and Jonas Hofmann, respectively. Stuttgart brought on Silas Wamangituka, Josha Vagnoman, Juan Jose Perea and Lilian Egloff, to replace Luca Pfeiffer, Pascal Stenzel, Chris Fuhrich and Naouirou Ahamada.

There were bookings for Ramy Bensebaini and Marcus Thuram from Gladbach. For Stuttgart, Konstantinos Mavropanos saw yellow.

Gladbach will next travel to Bochum, while Stuttgart will face Hertha at home.

Technical card:
B Mönchengladbach:Tobias Sippel, Joe Scally, Marvin Friedrich, Tony Jantschke (Lars Stindl, min.80), Ramy Bensebaini, Jonas Hofmann (Patrick Herrmann, min.90), Christoph Kramer, Julian Weigl, Kouadio Kone, Alassane Plea (Luca Netz, min.87) and Marcus Thuram
Stuttgart:Florian Muller, Pascal Stenzel (Josha Vagnoman, min.68), Waldemar Anton, Konstantinos Mavropanos, Borna Sosa, Tiago Tomas, Naouirou Ahamada (Lilian Egloff, min.88), Wataru Endo, Chris Fuhrich (Juan Jose Perea, min.84), Sehrou Guirassy and Luca Pfeiffer (Silas Wamangituka, min.68)
Stadium:the Borussia Park
Goals:Jonas Hofmann (1-0, min. 4), Marcus Thuram (2-0, min. 25), Tiago Tomas (2-1, min. 35) and Patrick Herrmann (3-1, min. 90)