Augsburg 1-2 Mainz: Fuggerstädter suffer home loss to Mainz

Photo Credit: AP

Mainz’s 2-1 win over Augsburg on Saturday, was hard fought at the WWK Arena. Augsburg had been hopeful of continuing their run, following a 2-1 victory against Bayer Leverkusen. Mainz secured a point against Union Berlin in their previous match. After today’s result, Augsburg are in 9th place, with 3 points from 3 matches, while Mainz sit in 2nd, with 7 points from 3.

Mainz started strongly in the first half, when Karim Onisiwo found the net at the 31 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Ermedin Demirovic equalised for Fuggerstädter in the 35th minute, concluding the first half 1-1.

The 05ers continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Lee Jae Sung found the net just before the final whistle. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-1 to Mainz.

Substitutions for Augsburg included Ricardo Pepi, Ruben Vargas, Andre Hahn, Julian Baumgartlinger and Daniel Caligiuri for Fredrik Jensen, Arne Maier, Ermedin Demirovic, Carlos Gruezo and Mads Pedersen, repectively. Mainz brought on Lee Jae Sung, Edimilson Fernandes, Delano Burgzorg, Marlon Mustapha and Leandro Martins, to replace Angelo Fulgini, Silvan Widmer, Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Karim Onisiwo and Anton Stach.

There were bookings for Jeffrey Gouweleeuw and Elvis Rexhbecaj from Augsburg. For Mainz, Stefan Bell and Jonathan Michael Burkardt saw yellow.

Augsburg will next play Hoffenheim away, with Mainz facing Bayer Leverkusen at home.

Technical card:
Augsburg:Rafal Gikiewicz, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Maximilian Bauer, Mads Pedersen (Daniel Caligiuri, min.85), Carlos Gruezo (Julian Baumgartlinger, min.85), Arne Maier (Ruben Vargas, min.68), Elvis Rexhbecaj, Iago, Ermedin Demirovic (Andre Hahn, min.72) and Fredrik Jensen (Ricardo Pepi, min.68)
Mainz:Robin Zentner, Maxim Leitsch, Stefan Bell, Alexander Hack, Silvan Widmer (Edimilson Fernandes, min.75), Anton Stach (Leandro Martins, min.88), Angelo Fulgini (Lee Jae Sung, min.68), Dominik Kohr, Aaron Martin, Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Delano Burgzorg, min.75) and Karim Onisiwo (Marlon Mustapha, min.88)
Stadium:the WWK Arena
Goals:Karim Onisiwo (0-1, min. 31), Ermedin Demirovic (1-1, min. 35) and Lee Jae Sung (1-2, min. 90)