Vélez 2 – Talleres 1: Visitors unable to get win at Jose Amalfitani

Photo Credit: AP

Vélez Sarsfield’s 2-1 win over Talleres Córdoba on Thursday, was hard fought at Jose Amalfitani. Vélez were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 1-0 to San Lorenzo. Talleres, meanwhile, were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-1 victory against Godoy Cruz. Vélez are now in 26th place, with 22 points from 25 matches, while Talleres sit in 22nd, with 28 points from 25.

After a goalless first half, Vélez applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Santiago Castro, 62 minutes in. Talleres then went on to level the score at 1-1 on the 88 minute mark, thanks to a goal from Matias Esquivel. Vélez managed to edge ahead with a goal from Jose Florentin just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Vélez included Lucas Hoyos, Santiago Castro, Julian Fernandez, Abiel Osorio and Jose Florentin for Leonardo Burian, Walter Bou, Luca Orellano, Lucas Pratto and Nicolas Garayalde, respectively. Talleres brought on Angelo Martino, Michael Santos, Leandro Espejo, Matias Esquivel and Ulises Ortegoza, to replace Lucas Suarez, Fabio Alvarez, Maximiliano Gonzalo Alvez, Gaston Benavidez and Rodrigo Villagra.

The referee booked Luca Orellano and Francisco Ortega from Vélez. Talleres had the worst of it though, with Lucas Suarez, Diego Valoyes, Francisco Pizzini and Matías Catalan seeing yellow, and Diego Valoyes (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Vélez will play at home against Estudiantes La Plata, while Talleres will face Aldosivi away.

Technical card:
Vélez Sarsfield:Leonardo Burian (Lucas Hoyos, min.46), Leonardo Jara, Miguel Brizuela, Matias De los Santos, Francisco Ortega, Luca Orellano (Julian Fernandez, min.66), Walter Bou (Santiago Castro, min.46), Mateo Seoane, Nicolas Garayalde (Jose Florentin, min.86), Lucas Janson and Lucas Pratto (Abiel Osorio, min.79)
Talleres Córdoba:Guido Herrera, Gaston Benavidez (Matias Esquivel, min.77), Rafael Perez, Matías Catalan, Lucas Suarez (Angelo Martino, min.51), Diego Valoyes, Fabio Alvarez (Michael Santos, min.61), Rodrigo Villagra (Ulises Ortegoza, min.77), Alan Franco, Francisco Pizzini and Maximiliano Gonzalo Alvez (Leandro Espejo, min.61)
Stadium:Jose Amalfitani
Goals:Santiago Castro (1-0, min. 62), Matias Esquivel (1-1, min. 88) and Jose Florentin (2-1, min. 90)