Vélez 2-0 Rosario Central: Rosario blanked in defeat at Jose Amalfitani

Photo Credit: AP

Vélez Sarsfield snatched all three points from Rosario Central in a 2-0 victory on Tuesday, at Jose Amalfitani. Vélez were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 2-0 to Racing Club. Rosario Central, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Godoy Cruz in their last match. After today’s result, both teams are on 4 points and occupy 19th and 22nd places respectively after 4 matches.

Vélez started strongly in the first half, when Luca Orellano gave Vélez the lead early in the first half, finishing the first half 1-0.

Vélez continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Damian Fernandez, 83 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-0.

Substitutions for Vélez included Santiago Castro, Jose Florentin, Agustin Mulet, Julian Fernandez and Joel Sonora for Abiel Osorio, Lucas Pratto, Maximo Perrone, Lucas Janson and Luca Orellano, repectively. Rosario Central brought on Facundo Valentin Buonanotte, Michael Covea, Franco Ezequiel Frias, Mateo Tanlongo and Fernando Torrent, to replace Walter Montoya, Luciano Ferreyra, Marcelo Benitez, Claudio Yacob and Damian Martinez.

There were bookings for Damian Fernandez, Maximo Perrone and Francisco Ortega from Vélez. For Rosario Central, Lucas Gamba and Fernando Torrent saw yellow.

Vélez will next travel to Defensa and Justicia, while Rosario Central will face Gimnasia La Plata at home.

Technical card:
Vélez Sarsfield:Lucas Hoyos, Leonardo Jara, Damian Fernandez, Diego Valentin Gomez, Francisco Ortega, Luca Orellano (Joel Sonora, min.87), Nicolas Garayalde, Maximo Perrone (Agustin Mulet, min.85), Lucas Janson (Julian Fernandez, min.85), Lucas Pratto (Jose Florentin, min.81) and Abiel Osorio (Santiago Castro, min.81)
Rosario Central:Gaspar Servio, Damian Martinez (Fernando Torrent, min.87), Juan Komar, Facundo Almada, Lautaro Blanco, Walter Montoya (Facundo Valentin Buonanotte, min.39), Luciano Ferreyra (Michael Covea, min.85), Claudio Yacob (Mateo Tanlongo, min.87), Marcelo Benitez (Franco Ezequiel Frias, min.87), Alejo Veliz and Lucas Gamba
Stadium:Jose Amalfitani
Goals:Luca Orellano (1-0, min. 6) and Damian Fernandez (2-0, min. 83)