Vélez 2-2 River: Last-minute Osorio goal rescues Vélez

Photo Credit: AP

Vélez were held to 2-2 draw by River down on Monday at Jose Amalfitani. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Vélez arrived at the match looking pick up points after losing 2-1 to Colón in their last match. River were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Godoy Cruz. As it stands, Vélez and River sit 25th, (6 points) and 16th, (9 points), in the table respectively, after 8 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for River, when Lucas Beltran found the net after only 7 minutes. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Walter Bou, 21 minutes in, brought Vélez level. River managed to edge ahead with a goal from Nicolás De La Cruz, at 30 minutes, ending the first half 2-1.

Vélez took the initiative in the second half, when Abiel Osorio found the net just before the final whistle. The match ended wih a 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Vélez included Julian Fernandez, Santiago Caseres and Abiel Osorio for Luca Orellano, Maximo Perrone and Walter Bou, repectively. River replaced Jose Paradela, Juan Quintero, Tomas Pochettino and Braian Romero with Ezequiel Barco, Nicolás De La Cruz, Agustin Palavecino and Lucas Beltran.

There were bookings for Maximo Perrone, Nicolas Garayalde, Diego Valentin Gomez, Matias De los Santos and Santiago Caseres from Vélez, and Elias Gomez, Santiago Simon, Bruno Zuculini, Milton Casco and Juan Quintero, for River.

Vélez will next travel to Lanús, while River will face Gimnasia La Plata at home.

Technical card:
Vélez Sarsfield:Lucas Hoyos, Leonardo Jara, Matias De los Santos, Diego Valentin Gomez, Francisco Ortega, Lucas Janson, Nicolas Garayalde, Maximo Perrone (Santiago Caseres, min.68), Luca Orellano (Julian Fernandez, min.68), Walter Bou (Abiel Osorio, min.76) and Lucas Pratto
River:Franco Armani, Milton Casco, Jonatan Maidana, Javier Pinola, Elias Gomez, Santiago Simon, Bruno Zuculini, Nicolás De La Cruz (Juan Quintero, min.70), Agustin Palavecino (Tomas Pochettino, min.75), Ezequiel Barco (Jose Paradela, min.70) and Lucas Beltran (Braian Romero, min.82)
Stadium:Jose Amalfitani
Goals:Lucas Beltran (0-1, min. 7), Walter Bou (1-1, min. 21), Nicolás De La Cruz (1-2, min. 30) and Abiel Osorio (2-2, min. 90)