Vélez 0-1 Atlético Tucumán: Atléti suffer an upset at the Jose Amalfitani

Photo Credit: AP

Vélez on home loss to Atlético Tucumán at Jose Amalfitani on Sunday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Vélez wanted to continue adding points after a 1-1 draw against Defensa and Justicia. Atlético Tucumán are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As it stands, Vélez and Atlético Tucumán sit 21st, (5 points) and 5th, (10 points), in the table respectively, after 6 matches.

Atlético Tucumán started the first half well, when Manuel Capasso gave Atlético Tucumán the lead at the 18 minute mark, to take a 1-0 lead into half time. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 1-0 at full time.

Substitutions for Vélez included Walter Bou, Lucas Janson, Maximo Perrone, Lucas Pratto and Luca Orellano for Gianluca Prestianni, Jose Florentin, Abiel Osorio, Joel Sonora and Julian Fernandez, repectively. Atlético Tucumán brought on Martin Garay, Ignacio Maestro Puch and Andres Balanta, to replace Jonathan Sandoval, Augusto Lotti and Joaquin Pereyra.

There were bookings for Santiago Caseres, Jose Florentin, Emanuel Insua and Miguel Brizuela from Vélez. For Atlético Tucumán, Jonathan Sandoval and Joaquin Pereyra saw yellow.

Vélez will next travel to Colón, while Atlético Tucumán will face Gimnasia La Plata at home.

Technical card:
Vélez Sarsfield:Leonardo Burian, Tomas Guidara, Damian Fernandez, Miguel Brizuela, Emanuel Insua, Joel Sonora (Lucas Pratto, min.67), Santiago Caseres, Jose Florentin (Lucas Janson, min.57), Gianluca Prestianni (Walter Bou, min.57), Abiel Osorio (Maximo Perrone, min.58) and Julian Fernandez (Luca Orellano, min.77)
Atlético Tucumán:Carlos Lampe, Jonathan Sandoval (Martin Garay, min.45), Manuel Capasso, Bruno Bianchi, Matias Orihuela, Ciro Rius, Ramiro Carrera, Guillermo Acosta, Joaquin Pereyra (Andres Balanta, min.89), Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez and Augusto Lotti (Ignacio Maestro Puch, min.89)
Stadium:Jose Amalfitani
Goals:Manuel Capasso (0-1, min. 18)