San Lorenzo 2-2 Unión: Visitors fightback with two goals to earn a point

Photo Credit: AP

San Lorenzo were held to 2-2 draw by Unión down on Wednesday at Estadio Pedro Bidegain. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. San Lorenzo wanted to continue adding points after a 1-1 draw against Banfield. Unión, on the other hand, secured a point against Defensa and Justicia in their previous match. As things stand, San Lorenzo are in 11th place in the table and have 12 points while Unión sit in 9th with 15 points after 9 matches.

San Lorenzo started strongly in the first half, when Adam Bareiro gave San Lorenzo the lead, 31 minutes in. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Nahuel Barrios just before halftime. The score at half time was 2-0.

Unión took the initiative in the second half, when Diego Polenta found the net, 57 minutes in. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Diego Gonzalez just before the final whistle to make it 2-2.

Substitutions for San Lorenzo included Ivan Leguizamon, Siro Rosane, Malcom Braida and Agustin Hausch for Nahuel Barrios, Agustin Martegani, Ezequiel Cerutti and Ignacio Mendez, repectively. Unión brought on Federico Vera, Diego Gonzalez, Enzo Roldan, Franco Troyansky and Claudio Corvalan, to replace Kevin Zenon, Francisco Gerometta, Juan Carlos Portillo, Mariano Peralta Bauer and Facundo Aguero.

There were bookings for Ivan Leguizamon and Sebastian Torrico from San Lorenzo. For Unión, Bryan Castrillon and Diego Polenta saw yellow.

Unión and San Lorenzo will next play at home to Godoy Cruz and Talleres Córdoba respectively.

Technical card:
San Lorenzo:Sebastian Torrico, Gaston Campi, Federico Gattoni, Cristian Zapata, Agustin Giay, Ignacio Mendez (Agustin Hausch, min.78), Agustin Martegani (Siro Rosane, min.66), Nicolas Ezequiel Fernandez Mercau, Adam Bareiro, Nahuel Barrios (Ivan Leguizamon, min.55) and Ezequiel Cerutti (Malcom Braida, min.66)
Unión Santa Fe:Santiago Mele, Francisco Gerometta (Diego Gonzalez, min.53), Facundo Aguero (Claudio Corvalan, min.72), Diego Polenta, Lucas Angel Esquivel, Bryan Castrillon, Juan Nardoni, Juan Carlos Portillo (Enzo Roldan, min.67), Kevin Zenon (Federico Vera, min.53), Mariano Peralta Bauer (Franco Troyansky, min.67) and Mauro Luna
Stadium:Estadio Pedro Bidegain
Goals:Adam Bareiro (1-0, min. 31), Nahuel Barrios (2-0, min. 44), Diego Polenta (2-1, min. 57) and Diego Gonzalez (2-2, min. 90)