San Lorenzo 2-1 Boca: San Lorenzo rediscover winning touch with home victory

Photo Credit: AP

San Lorenzo beat Boca with a thumping 2-1 victory on Saturday at Estadio Pedro Bidegain. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. San Lorenzo were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 2-1 to Barracas Central. Boca, on the other hand, were beaten 3-0 in the previous match against Banfield. As things stand, San Lorenzo are currently 7th with 10 points from 7 matches, while Boca sit in 13th, with 9 points from 7.

It was an impressive opening from Boca, when Marcos Rojo gave Boca the lead at the 28 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Agustin Giay equalised for San Lorenzo, 38 minutes in, concluding the first half 1-1.

San Lorenzo fought back, when Adam Bareiro found the net at the 54 minute mark. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-1 to San Lorenzo.

Substitutions for San Lorenzo included Gaston Hernandez, Ivan Leguizamon and Malcom Braida for Jeremias James, Nahuel Barrios and Ezequiel Cerutti, repectively. Boca brought on Exequiel Zeballos and Nicolas Orsini for Juan Ramirez and Alan Varela.

There were bookings for Siro Rosane, Nicolas Ezequiel Fernandez Mercau and Federico Gattoni from San Lorenzo, and Frank Fabra, Alan Varela, Carlos Zambrano and Marcos Rojo, for Boca.

San Lorenzo will next travel to Banfield, while Boca will face Talleres Córdoba at home.

Technical card:
San Lorenzo:Sebastian Torrico, Federico Gattoni, Jeremias James (Gaston Hernandez, min.15), Cristian Zapata, Agustin Giay, Siro Rosane, Jalil Elias, Nicolas Ezequiel Fernandez Mercau, Ezequiel Cerutti (Malcom Braida, min.71), Adam Bareiro and Nahuel Barrios (Ivan Leguizamon, min.57)
Boca:Agustin Rossi, Luis Advincula, Marcos Rojo, Carlos Zambrano, Frank Fabra, Guillermo Fernandez, Oscar Romero, Alan Varela (Nicolas Orsini, min.63), Juan Ramirez (Exequiel Zeballos, min.63), Sebastian Villa and Dario Benedetto
Stadium:Estadio Pedro Bidegain
Goals:Marcos Rojo (0-1, min. 28), Agustin Giay (1-1, min. 38) and Adam Bareiro (2-1, min. 54)