Rosario Central 1-0 Newell’s: No joy for the visitors as Rosario Central bank the win

Photo Credit: AP

Newell’s Old Boys fell to an away defeat at the hands of Rosario Central at Estadio Dr. Lisandro de La Torre on Thursday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Rosario Central wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Independiente in their previous game. Newell’s had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with Racing Club. At the moment, Rosario Central are in 17th place in the table and have 11 points while Newell’s sit in 5th with 16 points after 9 matches.

Rosario Central scored first, when Alejo Veliz found the net just before halftime With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 1-0.

Substitutions for Rosario Central included Gino Infantino, Franco Frias, Marcelo Benitez and Francis Mac Allister for Facundo Valentin Buonanotte, Jhonatan Candia, Juan Gabriel Rodriguez and Walter Montoya, repectively. Newell’s replaced Julian Fernandez, Juan Manuel Garcia, Armando Mendez and Pablo Perez for Genaro Rossi, Nazareno Manuel Funez, Juan Fernando Garro and Guillermo Balzi.

There were bookings for Gino Infantino, Francis Mac Allister and Alejo Veliz from Rosario Central, and Cristian Lema, Juan Sforza, Armando Mendez, Willer Ditta and Pablo Perez, for Newell’s.

Rosario Central will play their next fixture away against Arsenal de Sarandi, while Newell’s will face Defensa and Justicia at home.

Technical card:
Rosario Central:Gaspar Servio, Ismael Cortez, Christian Baez, Facundo Almada, Lautaro Blanco, Facundo Valentin Buonanotte (Gino Infantino, min.25), Mateo Tanlongo, Juan Gabriel Rodriguez (Marcelo Benitez, min.65), Alejo Veliz, Jhonatan Candia (Franco Frias, min.65) and Walter Montoya (Francis Mac Allister, min.67)
Newell’s Old Boys:Franco Herrera, Armando Mendez (Juan Fernando Garro, min.78), Gustavo Velazquez, Cristian Lema, Willer Ditta, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez, Pablo Perez (Guillermo Balzi, min.82), Julian Fernandez (Genaro Rossi, min.69), Juan Sforza, Juan Manuel Garcia (Nazareno Manuel Funez, min.78) and Ramiro Sordo
Stadium:Estadio Dr. Lisandro de La Torre
Goals:Alejo Veliz (1-0, min. 44)