River 0-2 Godoy Cruz: Visitors strike twice early on to seal maximum points

Photo Credit: AP

River fell to a home defeat at the hands of Godoy Cruz at Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti on Monday. River were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Defensa and Justicia. Godoy Cruz, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Colón. Following today’s result, River and Godoy Cruz sit 15th, (8 points) and 5th, (13 points), in the league respectively, after 7 matches.

Godoy Cruz started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Martin Ojeda found the net at the 23 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Gonzalo Abrego, at 24 minutes, ending the first half 2-0. The second 45 minutes ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for River included Marcelo Herrera, Santiago Simon, Ezequiel Barco, David Martinez and Juan Quintero for Emanuel Mammana, Nicolás De La Cruz, Braian Romero, Leandro Gonzalez Pirez and Jose Paradela, repectively. Godoy Cruz brought on Guillermo Ortiz, Elias Lopez, Tomas Badaloni and Nelson Acevedo, to replace Ezequiel Bullaude, Franco Negri, Tadeo Allende and Salomon Rodriguez.

River and Godoy Cruz played a rough game where the referee sanctioned River with yellow cards to Leandro Gonzalez Pirez and Marcelo Herrera and with red card to Rodrigo Aliendro, while from Godoy Cruz Gianluca Ferrari, Diego Rodriguez and Nestor Breitenbruch were booked and red to Gianluca Ferrari (2 yellow cards).

River will next play Vélez Sarsfield away, with Godoy Cruz facing Lanús at home.

Technical card:
River:Franco Armani, Emanuel Mammana (Marcelo Herrera, min.46), Paulo Diaz, Leandro Gonzalez Pirez (David Martinez, min.46), Milton Casco, Jose Paradela (Juan Quintero, min.62), Rodrigo Aliendro, Enzo Perez, Nicolás De La Cruz (Santiago Simon, min.46), Braian Romero (Ezequiel Barco, min.46) and Lucas Beltran
Godoy Cruz:Diego Rodriguez, Nestor Breitenbruch, Gianluca Ferrari, Pier Barrios, Franco Negri (Elias Lopez, min.56), Martin Ojeda, Juan Andrada, Gonzalo Abrego, Ezequiel Bullaude (Guillermo Ortiz, min.44), Tadeo Allende (Tomas Badaloni, min.73) and Salomon Rodriguez (Nelson Acevedo, min.73)
Stadium:Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti
Goals:Martin Ojeda (0-1, min. 23) and Gonzalo Abrego (0-2, min. 24)