River 5-0 Estudiantes: River Plate up to fourth with big victory

Photo Credit: AP

On Thursday, Estudiantes La Plata suffered an away defeat to River at Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti. River were looking to continue their good run after winning last match. Estudiantes had lost their previous match against Colón. River are now in 4th place, with 38 points from 23 matches, while Estudiantes sit in 20th, with 27 points from 23.

River didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Miguel Angel Borja opened the rout after 25 minutes. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a 2nd effort from Miguel Angel Borja, 29 minutes in and saw the first half out 2-0.

River once more applied the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Pablo Solari found the net, 83 minutes in. The momentum was again with River, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Ezequiel Barco, 85 minutes in to establish a 4-0 result. They then scored again, thanks to a goal from Matias Suárez just before the final whistle to make it 5-0.

Substitutions for River included Pablo Solari, Ezequiel Barco, Jose Paradela, Tomas Pochettino and Matias Suárez for Lucas Beltran, Agustin Palavecino, Juan Quintero, Enzo Perez and Miguel Angel Borja, respectively. Estudiantes brought on Gonzalo Pineiro, Mauro Mendez and Leonardo Heredia, to replace Pablo Piatti, Franco Zapiola and Benjamin Rollheiser.

There were bookings for Agustin Palavecino and Ezequiel Barco from River. For Estudiantes, Pablo Piatti saw yellow.

River will next play Patronato away, with Estudiantes facing Lanús at home.

Technical card:
River:Franco Armani, Marcelo Herrera, Paulo Diaz, Emanuel Mammana, Milton Casco, Agustin Palavecino (Ezequiel Barco, min.66), Enzo Perez (Tomas Pochettino, min.76), Juan Quintero (Jose Paradela, min.67), Nicolás De La Cruz, Miguel Angel Borja (Matias Suárez, min.77) and Lucas Beltran (Pablo Solari, min.35)
Estudiantes La Plata:Jeronimo Pourtau, Leonardo Godoy, Jorge Morel, Fabian Noguera, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro, Jorge Rodriguez, Benjamin Rollheiser (Leonardo Heredia, min.77), Pablo Piatti (Gonzalo Pineiro, min.58), Mauro Boselli and Franco Zapiola (Mauro Mendez, min.65)
Stadium:Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti
Goals:Miguel Angel Borja (1-0, min. 25), Miguel Angel Borja (2-0, min. 29), Pablo Solari (3-0, min. 83), Ezequiel Barco (4-0, min. 85) and Matias Suárez (5-0, min. 88)