Racing 2-1 Unión: Carbonero nets a late winner for hosts

Photo Credit: AP

Racing Club eased past Unión Santa Fe in a 2-1 victory on Monday at Estadio Juan Domingo Peron. Racing were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two matches against CA Platense away and Patronato at home, by 1-0 and 1-0 respectively. Unión had lost their previous match against Independiente. Racing are now in 3rd place on the table and have 37 points while Unión sit in 19th with 26 points after 21 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Unión certainly were out of the blocks quickly in the second half, with an early goal from Junior Marabel in the 49th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Enzo Copetti, 73 minutes in, brought Racing level. However they weren’t finished yet and Johan Carbonero made it 2-1 just before the full time to give a final score of 2-1.

Substitutions for Racing included Johan Carbonero, Jonathan Gomez, Carlos Alcaraz, Matias Rojas and Juan Jose Caceres for Anibal Moreno, Gabriel Hauche, Emiliano Vecchio, Leonel Miranda and Ivan Pillud, respectively. Unión brought on Junior Marabel, Kevin Zenon and Matias Gallegos Panozzo, to replace Jonathan Alvez, Imanol Machuca and Mauro Luna.

There were bookings for Anibal Moreno and Johan Carbonero from Racing. For Unión, Juan Nardoni, Facundo Aguero and Juan Carlos Portillo saw yellow.

Unión and Racing will next play at home to Newell’s Old Boys and Rosario Central respectively.

Technical card:
Racing Club:Matias Tagliamonte, Facundo Mura, Emiliano Insua, Leonardo Sigali, Ivan Pillud (Juan Jose Caceres, min.88), Emiliano Vecchio (Carlos Alcaraz, min.62), Anibal Moreno (Johan Carbonero, min.62), Leonel Miranda (Matias Rojas, min.73), Maximiliano Romero, Gabriel Hauche (Jonathan Gomez, min.62) and Enzo Copetti
Unión Santa Fe:Santiago Mele, Facundo Aguero, Juan Carlos Portillo, Lucas Angel Esquivel, Federico Vera, Juan Nardoni, Imanol Machuca (Kevin Zenon, min.78), Franco Calderon, Jonathan Alvez (Junior Marabel, min.15), Mauro Luna (Matias Gallegos Panozzo, min.88) and Bryan Castrillon
Stadium:Estadio Juan Domingo Peron
Goals:Junior Marabel (0-1, min. 49), Enzo Copetti (1-1, min. 73) and Johan Carbonero (2-1, min. 86)