Racing 1-0 Independiente: Early strike gives Racing the home success

Photo Credit: AP

Racing Club’s 1-0 win over Independiente on Sunday, was hard fought at Estadio Juan Domingo Peron. Racing wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 1-1 draw with CA Sarmiento in their previous game. Independiente, on the other hand, lost 3-1 in the last match they played against CA Platense. As the table looks today, Racing and Independiente currently occupy 3rd and 20th spots in the league, with 13 points and 7 points respectively after 7 matches.

Racing opened the score, thanks to a goal from Gabriel Hauche at the 9 minute mark, finishing the first half 1-0. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 1-0.

Substitutions for Racing included Jonathan Gomez, Ivan Pillud, Johan Carbonero, Carlos Alcaraz and Gonzalo Piovi for Emiliano Vecchio, Facundo Mura, Tomas Chancalay, Gabriel Hauche and Leonel Miranda, repectively. Independiente brought on Leandro Fernandez, Tomas Agustin Pozzo and Juan Cazares, to replace Damian Batallini, Gabriel Hachen and Lucas Gonzalez.

There were bookings for Leonel Miranda, Facundo Mura and Enzo Copetti from Racing, and Damian Batallini, Facundo Ferreyra, Lucas Rodriguez, Leandro Fernandez, Ivan Marcone and Sergio Barreto, for Independiente.

Racing will next travel to Newell’s Old Boys, while Independiente will face Rosario Central at home.

Technical card:
Racing Club:Gaston Gomez, Facundo Mura (Ivan Pillud, min.66), Leonardo Sigali, Emiliano Insua, Eugenio Mena, Leonel Miranda (Gonzalo Piovi, min.85), Anibal Moreno, Emiliano Vecchio (Jonathan Gomez, min.46), Tomas Chancalay (Johan Carbonero, min.66), Enzo Copetti and Gabriel Hauche (Carlos Alcaraz, min.79)
Independiente:Sebastian Sosa, Alex Vigo, Joaquin Laso, Sergio Barreto, Lucas Rodriguez, Damian Batallini (Leandro Fernandez, min.37), Lucas Gonzalez (Juan Cazares, min.72), Ivan Marcone, Lucas Romero, Gabriel Hachen (Tomas Agustin Pozzo, min.46) and Facundo Ferreyra
Stadium:Estadio Juan Domingo Peron
Goals:Gabriel Hauche (1-0, min. 9)