Racing 2-0 Atlético Tucumán: Visitors brushed aside as Racing take second

Photo Credit: AP

Racing Club beated Atlético Tucumán 2-0 on Tuesday at Estadio Juan Domingo Peron. Racing were looking for a victory following a disappointing 3-3 draw with Defensa and Justicia in their previous game. Atlético Tucumán had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-1 victory against CA Platense. both teams are now on 44 points and occupy 2nd and 3rd places respectively after 24 matches.

Racing dominated the first half, with an early goal from Enzo Copetti in the 5th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Eugenio Mena just before half-time, concluding the first half 2-0. The second half ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Racing included Carlos Alcaraz, Jonathan Galvan, Gabriel Hauche, Edwin Cardona and Jonathan Gomez for Matias Rojas, Emiliano Vecchio, Johan Carbonero, Enzo Copetti and Gonzalo Piovi, respectively. Atlético Tucumán brought on Cristian Menendez, Augusto Lotti, Ignacio Maestro Puch and Eugenio Isnaldo, to replace Renzo Ivan Tesuri, Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez, Mateo Coronel and Joaquin Pereyra.

There were bookings for Enzo Copetti from Racing. For Atlético Tucumán, Renzo Ivan Tesuri, Ramiro Carrera, Bruno Bianchi and Nicolas Thaller saw yellow.

Racing will next travel to Colón, while Atlético Tucumán will face Rosario Central at home.

Technical card:
Racing Club:Gabriel Arias, Ivan Pillud, Leonardo Sigali, Gonzalo Piovi (Jonathan Gomez, min.83), Eugenio Mena, Emiliano Vecchio (Jonathan Galvan, min.69), Anibal Moreno, Leonel Miranda, Enzo Copetti (Edwin Cardona, min.83), Johan Carbonero (Gabriel Hauche, min.76) and Matias Rojas (Carlos Alcaraz, min.68)
Atlético Tucumán:Carlos Lampe, Martin Garay, Nicolas Thaller, Bruno Bianchi, Matias Orihuela, Renzo Ivan Tesuri (Cristian Menendez, min.64), Guillermo Acosta, Ramiro Carrera, Joaquin Pereyra (Eugenio Isnaldo, min.80), Mateo Coronel (Ignacio Maestro Puch, min.76) and Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez (Augusto Lotti, min.64)
Stadium:Estadio Juan Domingo Peron
Goals:Enzo Copetti (1-0, min. 5) and Eugenio Mena (2-0, min. 44)