Racing 1-1 Arsenal de Sarandi: First-half exchange leads to draw

Photo Credit: AP

Racing were held to 1-1 draw by Arsenal de Sarandi down on Wednesday at Estadio Juan Domingo Peron. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Racing wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Newell’s Old Boys in their previous game. Arsenal de Sarandi secured a point against CA Platense in their previous match. As the table looks today, Racing are in 6th place in the table and have 15 points while Arsenal de Sarandi sit in 11th with 12 points after 9 matches.

Racing started strongly in the first half, when Gonzalo Piovi found the net at the 35 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Facundo Kruspzky equalised for Arsenal de Sarandi, 38 minutes in. The score at half time was 1-1. The second 45 minutes ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Racing included Carlos Alcaraz, Edwin Cardona, Johan Carbonero, Matias Rojas and Maximiliano Romero for Leonel Miranda, Nicolas Oroz, Jonathan Gomez, Gabriel Hauche and Facundo Mura, repectively. Arsenal de Sarandi replaced Julian Navas, Juan Apaolaza, Alexander Diaz and Alejo Antilef with Braian Rivero, Joaquin Ibanez, Sebastian Lomonaco and Facundo Kruspzky.

There were bookings for Anibal Moreno from Racing, and Braian Rivero, Alejandro Medina and Julian Navas, for Arsenal de Sarandi.

Racing will next travel to Central Córdoba, while Arsenal de Sarandi will face Rosario Central at home.

Technical card:
Racing Club:Gaston Gomez, Facundo Mura (Maximiliano Romero, min.88), Jonathan Galvan, Emiliano Insua, Gonzalo Piovi, Gabriel Hauche (Matias Rojas, min.68), Nicolas Oroz (Edwin Cardona, min.57), Leonel Miranda (Carlos Alcaraz, min.46), Anibal Moreno, Jonathan Gomez (Johan Carbonero, min.58) and Enzo Copetti
Arsenal de Sarandi:Alejandro Medina, Cristian Chimino, Gonzalo Goni, Ignacio Gariglio, Damian Perez, Braian Rivero (Julian Navas, min.63), Mauro Pitton, Dardo Miloc, Joaquin Ibanez (Juan Apaolaza, min.74), Sebastian Lomonaco (Alexander Diaz, min.81) and Facundo Kruspzky (Alejo Antilef, min.81)
Stadium:Estadio Juan Domingo Peron
Goals:Gonzalo Piovi (1-0, min. 35) and Facundo Kruspzky (1-1, min. 38)