Newell’s 2 – Gimnasia 0: Visitors unable to get win at Estadio Marcelo Bielsa

Photo Credit: AP

Newell’s Old Boys strolled past Gimnasia La Plata with a 2-0 win on Sunday at Estadio Marcelo Bielsa. Both Newell’s and Gimnasia arrived fresh from some positive results. Newell’s were looking to pick up points, following a 1-0 victory against Vélez Sarsfield. Gimnasia were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-1 victory against Independiente. Newell’s are now in 12th place on the table and have 26 points while Gimnasia sit in 2nd with 33 points after 18 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Newell’s, when Oscar Piris found the net, 30 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Djorkaeff Reascos just before half-time to secure a 2-0 win. Both teams struggled to produce anything in the second half and the match ended 2-0.

Substitutions for Newell’s included Francisco Agustin Gonzalez, Marco Campagnaro, Nazareno Manuel Funez and Genaro Rossi for Juan Fernando Garro, Martin Luciano, Djorkaeff Reascos and Juan Manuel Garcia, respectively. Gimnasia brought on Leandro Contin, Gonzalo Gonzales, Matias Miranda and Lautaro Chavez for Benjamin Dominguez, Guillermo Enrique, Ramon Sosa and Erik Ramirez.

There were bookings for Juan Sforza, Lautaro Morales, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez and Brian Nicolas Aguirre from Newell’s, and Guillermo Enrique and Matias Melluso, for Gimnasia.

Newell’s will next travel to Aldosivi, while Gimnasia will face Arsenal de Sarandi at home.

Technical card:
Newell’s Old Boys:Lautaro Morales, Gustavo Velazquez, Tomas Jacob, Facundo Mansilla, Martin Luciano (Marco Campagnaro, min.86), Marcelo Cesar Esponda, Juan Sforza, Djorkaeff Reascos (Nazareno Manuel Funez, min.90), Juan Manuel Garcia (Genaro Rossi, min.90), Juan Fernando Garro (Francisco Agustin Gonzalez, min.60) and Brian Nicolas Aguirre
Gimnasia La Plata:Rodrigo Rey, Guillermo Enrique (Gonzalo Gonzales, min.67), Oscar Piris, Leonardo Morales, Matias Melluso, Ramon Sosa (Matias Miranda, min.78), Brahian Aleman, Agustin Cardozo, Benjamin Dominguez (Leandro Contin, min.64), Franco Soldano and Erik Ramirez (Lautaro Chavez, min.78)
Stadium:Estadio Marcelo Bielsa
Goals:Oscar Piris (1-0, min. 30) and Djorkaeff Reascos (2-0, min. 40)