Newell’s 0 – CA Tigre 2: Visitors ecstatic after win at Estadio Marcelo Bielsa

Photo Credit: AP

CA Tigre strolled past Newell’s Old Boys with a 2-0 win on Friday at Estadio Marcelo Bielsa. Both Newell’s and CA Tigre arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Newell’s were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run after winning last match. CA Tigre, meanwhile, were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Independiente. Newell’s and CA Tigre are 10th, (36 points) and 8th, (37 points), spots respectively, after 25 matches.

CA Tigre found the net first, when Mateo Retegui gave them the lead, 27 minutes in. They then scored again, thanks to a 2nd effort from Mateo Retegui in the 32nd minute and saw the first half out 2-0. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 2-0 at full time.

Substitutions for Newell’s included Cristian Ferreira, Ramiro Sordo, Djorkaeff Reasco and Nazareno Manuel Funez for Marcelo Cesar Esponda, Tomas Jacob, Guillermo Balzi and Cristian Ferreira, respectively. CA Tigre replaced Blas Armoa, Facundo Colidio, Alexis Castro, Mateo Retegui and Lucas Menossi for Agustin Baldi, Martin Ortega, Diego Alejandro Sosa, Gonzalo Flores and Cristian Zabala.

The referee booked Gustavo Velazquez and Juan Sforza from Newell’s. CA Tigre had the worst of it though, with Ezequiel Fernandez, Brian Leizza and Martin Ortega seeing yellow, and Ezequiel Fernandez (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Newell’s will next play Boca at home, with CA Tigre facing Central Córdoba away.

Technical card:
Newell’s Old Boys:Lautaro Morales, Tomas Jacob (Ramiro Sordo, min.60), Gustavo Velazquez, Willer Ditta, Martin Luciano, Marcelo Cesar Esponda (Cristian Ferreira, min.46), Guillermo Balzi (Djorkaeff Reasco, min.70), Armando Mendez, Juan Sforza, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez and Juan Manuel Garcia
CA Tigre:Gonzalo Marinelli, Lucas Blondel, Brian Leizza, Brian Abel Luciatti, Sebastian Prieto, Blas Armoa (Agustin Baldi, min.45), Facundo Colidio (Martin Ortega, min.57), Lucas Menossi (Cristian Zabala, min.73), Ezequiel Fernandez, Alexis Castro (Diego Alejandro Sosa, min.57) and Mateo Retegui (Gonzalo Flores, min.73)
Stadium:Estadio Marcelo Bielsa
Goals:Mateo Retegui (0-1, min. 27) and Mateo Retegui (0-2, min. 32)