Newell’s 0-0 Arsenal de Sarandi: Visitors pick up a point as defences on top

Photo Credit: AP

On Tuesday, Newell’s and Arsenal de Sarandi played out a 0-0 draw at Estadio Marcelo Bielsa. Newell’s were looking to continue their good run, following a 1-0 victory against Unión Santa Fe whilst Arsenal de Sarandi had lost their previous match against Independiente. Newell’s are now in 10th place, with 33 points from 23 matches, while Arsenal de Sarandi sit in 24th, with 24 points from 23.

Substitutions for Newell’s included Guillermo Balzi, Luciano Cingolani, Armando Mendez and Marcos Portillo for Pablo Perez, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez, Juan Fernando Garro and Tomas Jacob, respectively. Arsenal de Sarandi replaced Damian Perez, Braian Rivero, Juan Apaolaza, Julian Navas and Sebastian Lomonaco for Leonardo Marchi, Facundo Kruspzky, Alexander Diaz, Lucas Brochero and Juan Ignacio Peinipil.

The referee booked five players. Djorkaeff Reasco from Newell’s, who saw yellow cards and Djorkaeff Reasco (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Arsenal de Sarandi Cristian Chimino, Julian Navas and Lucas Brochero also seeing yellows.

Arsenal de Sarandi and Newell’s will next play away to Unión Santa Fe and Central Córdoba respectively.

Technical card:
Newell’s Old Boys:Lautaro Morales, Tomas Jacob (Marcos Portillo, min.88), Gustavo Velazquez, Cristian Lema, Marco Campagnaro, Juan Fernando Garro (Armando Mendez, min.88), Djorkaeff Reasco, Pablo Perez (Guillermo Balzi, min.72), Juan Sforza, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez (Luciano Cingolani, min.74) and Juan Manuel Garcia
Arsenal de Sarandi:Alejandro Medina, Cristian Chimino, Gonzalo Goni, Joaquin Pombo Steinberger, Damian Perez (Leonardo Marchi, min.22), Julian Navas (Lucas Brochero, min.64), Braian Rivero (Facundo Kruspzky, min.56), Mauro Pitton, Joaquin Ibanez, Sebastian Lomonaco (Juan Ignacio Peinipil, min.65) and Juan Apaolaza (Alexander Diaz, min.56)
Stadium:Estadio Marcelo Bielsa