Godoy Cruz 2-1 Lanús: Godoy Cruz fight back to earn home success

Photo Credit: AP

Godoy Cruz strolled past Lanús with a 2-1 win on Sunday at Estadio Malvinas Argentinas. Godoy Cruz were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games against River away and Colón at home, by 2-0 and 1-0 respectively. Lanús were beaten 3-2 in the previous match against Defensa and Justicia. At the moment, Godoy Cruz are in 1st place in the table and have 16 points while Lanús sit in 27th with 5 points after 8 matches.

Lanús started the first half well, with an early penalty goal from Jose Sand in the 5th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Salomon Rodriguez equalised for Godoy Cruz, 18 minutes in, which saw the first half end 1-1.

Godoy Cruz rallied after this and were rewarded, with a goal from Martin Ojeda at the 62 minute mark, which sealed the victory for Godoy Cruz.

Substitutions for Godoy Cruz included Nelson Acevedo, Elias Lopez, Valentin Burgoa, Tomas Badaloni and Jose Canale for Juan Andrada, Nestor Breitenbruch, Tadeo Allende, Salomon Rodriguez and Ezequiel Bullaude, repectively. Lanús brought on Ivan Cazal, Franco Orozco, Mateo Sanabria, Brian Blando and Luciano Boggio for Leonel Di Placido, Jose Sand, Brian Aguilar, Matias Perez and Facundo Perez.

There were bookings for Salomon Rodriguez, Franco Negri and Tomas Badaloni from Godoy Cruz, and Franco Ortellado, for Lanús.

Godoy Cruz will next travel to Defensa and Justicia, while Lanús will face Vélez Sarsfield at home.

Technical card:
Godoy Cruz:Diego Rodriguez, Nestor Breitenbruch (Elias Lopez, min.76), Pier Barrios, Guillermo Ortiz, Franco Negri, Martin Ojeda, Ezequiel Bullaude (Jose Canale, min.89), Gonzalo Abrego, Juan Andrada (Nelson Acevedo, min.65), Tadeo Allende (Valentin Burgoa, min.76) and Salomon Rodriguez (Tomas Badaloni, min.76)
Lanús:Fernando Monetti, Brian Aguilar (Mateo Sanabria, min.70), Matias Perez (Brian Blando, min.80), Franco Ortellado, Leonel Di Placido (Ivan Cazal, min.59), David Maximiliano Gonzalez, Raul Loaiza, Facundo Perez (Luciano Boggio, min.80), Julian Aude, Jose Sand (Franco Orozco, min.69) and Lucas Varaldo
Stadium:Estadio Malvinas Argentinas
Goals:Jose Sand (0-1, min. 5), Salomon Rodriguez (1-1, min. 18) and Martin Ojeda (2-1, min. 62)