Gimnasia 3-1 Racing Club: Gimnasia coast to a comfortable home success

Photo Credit: AP

Racing Club on away loss to Gimnasia at Estadio Juan Carmelo Zerillo on Tuesday. Gimnasia wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with CA Platense in their previous game. Racing, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-0 victory against Vélez Sarsfield. As the table looks today, Gimnasia are in 2nd place, with 8 points from 4 matches, while Racing sit in 10th, with 6 points from 4.

Gimnasia dominated the first half, with a goal from Erik Ramirez after only 6 minutes. Racing then went on to level the score at 1-1, 26 minutes in, thanks to a goal from Enzo Copetti. Gimnasia managed to edge ahead with a penalty goal from Brahian Aleman just before halftime. The first half ended 2-1.

Gimnasia continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Brahian Aleman found the net again in the 65th minute, leaving the final score at 3-1.

Substitutions for Gimnasia included Tomas Muro, Carlos Insaurralde, Emanuel Cecchini, Matias Miranda and Nicolas Colazo for Lautaro Chavez, Erik Ramirez, Brahian Aleman, Franco Soldano and Ramon Sosa, repectively. Racing brought on Fabricio Dominguez, Emiliano Vecchio, Edwin Cardona and Nicolas Meaurio, to replace Facundo Mura, Matias Rojas, Eugenio Mena and Jonathan Gomez.

There were bookings for Erik Ramirez and Brahian Aleman from Gimnasia, and Eugenio Mena, Matias Rojas, Leonardo Sigali, Jonathan Gomez and Edwin Cardona, for Racing.

Gimnasia will next play Rosario Central away, with Racing facing Aldosivi at home.

Technical card:
Gimnasia La Plata:Rodrigo Rey, Guillermo Enrique, Leonardo Morales, Oscar Piris, Matias Melluso, Lautaro Chavez (Tomas Muro, min.61), Agustin Cardozo, Brahian Aleman (Emanuel Cecchini, min.79), Ramon Sosa (Nicolas Colazo, min.90), Franco Soldano (Matias Miranda, min.90) and Erik Ramirez (Carlos Insaurralde, min.79)
Racing Club:Gaston Gomez, Facundo Mura (Fabricio Dominguez, min.46), Leonardo Sigali, Emiliano Insua, Gonzalo Piovi, Eugenio Mena (Edwin Cardona, min.68), Matias Rojas (Emiliano Vecchio, min.52), Leonel Miranda, Anibal Moreno, Jonathan Gomez (Nicolas Meaurio, min.84) and Enzo Copetti
Stadium:Estadio Juan Carmelo Zerillo
Goals:Erik Ramirez (1-0, min. 6), Enzo Copetti (1-1, min. 26), Brahian Aleman (2-1, min. 40) and Brahian Aleman (3-1, min. 65)