Gimnasia 2 – Patronato 0: Visitors to Estadio Juan Carmelo Zerillo leave with nothing

Photo Credit: AP

Patronato on away loss to Gimnasia at Estadio Juan Carmelo Zerillo on Friday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Gimnasia arrived with the intention of increasing their league score after a 1-1 draw against Estudiantes La Plata. Patronato, on the other hand, secured a point against Vélez Sarsfield in their previous match. As the table looks today, Gimnasia are currently 2nd with 4 points from 2 matches, while Patronato sit in 26th, with 1 point from 2.

Gimnasia started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with a goal from Johan Carbonero, 27 minutes in, ending the first half 1-0.

Gimnasia continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Cristian Tarragona in the 75th minute, leaving the final score at 2-0.

Substitutions for Gimnasia included Lautaro Chavez, Franco Soldano, Gonzalo Gonzales, Emanuel Cecchini and Tomas Muro for Johan Carbonero, Erik Ramirez, Carlos Insaurralde, Cristian Tarragona and Ramon Sosa, repectively. Patronato brought on Sebastian Medina, Alexander Sosa, Jorge Valdez Chamorro and Tomas Caceres, to replace Tiago Banega, Jose Barreto, Franco Leys and Francisco Alvarez.

The referee booked Carlos Insaurralde, Agustin Cardozo and Tomas Muro from Gimnasia. Patronato had the worst of it though, with Diego Garcia, Nicolas Eduardo Castro, Jorge Valdez Chamorro and Leonel Mosevich seeing yellow, and Jorge Valdez Chamorro (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Gimnasia will next play CA Platense away, with Patronato facing Aldosivi at home.

Technical card:
Gimnasia La Plata:Rodrigo Rey, Carlos Insaurralde (Gonzalo Gonzales, min.83), Oscar Piris, Leonardo Morales, Matias Melluso, Ramon Sosa (Tomas Muro, min.83), Brahian Aleman, Agustin Cardozo, Johan Carbonero (Lautaro Chavez, min.66), Cristian Tarragona (Emanuel Cecchini, min.83) and Erik Ramirez (Franco Soldano, min.66)
Patronato:Facundo Altamirano, Francisco Alvarez (Tomas Caceres, min.79), Leonel Mosevich, Carlos Quintana, Raul Alberto Lozano, Tiago Banega (Sebastian Medina, min.46), Franco Leys (Jorge Valdez Chamorro, min.74), Facundo Cobos, Jose Barreto (Alexander Sosa, min.64), Diego Garcia and Nicolas Eduardo Castro
Stadium:Estadio Juan Carmelo Zerillo
Goals:Johan Carbonero (1-0, min. 27) and Cristian Tarragona (2-0, min. 75)