Estudiantes 0-2 Newell’s: Old Boys deliver a strong second half to secure victory

Photo Credit: AP

Estudiantes on home loss to Newell’s Old Boys at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata on Sunday. Estudiantes were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 2-1 to Independiente whilst Newell’s were coming from consecutive wins against Argentinos Juniors and Talleres Córdoba. As the table looks today, Estudiantes are in 9th place, with 7 points from 5 matches, while Newell’s sit in 1st, with 13 points from 5.

Following a goalless first half, Newell’s continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Ramiro Sordo found the net, at 57 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Juan Fernando Garro made it 2-0 at the 72 minute mark with a final score of 2-0.

Substitutions for Estudiantes included Franco Zapiola and Brian Orosco for Matias Pellegrini and Leonardo Godoy, repectively. Newell’s brought on Juan Fernando Garro, Genaro Rossi, Facundo Mansilla, Marcos Portillo and Luciano Cingolani for Francisco Agustin Gonzalez, Juan Manuel Garcia, Tomas Jacob, Juan Sforza and Ramiro Sordo.

There were bookings for Fernando Zuqui and Agustin Rogel from Estudiantes. For Newell’s, Willer Ditta, Julian Fernandez and Tomas Jacob saw yellow.

Estudiantes will next travel to Arsenal de Sarandi, while Newell’s will face Patronato at home.

Technical card:
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy (Brian Orosco, min.76), Agustin Rogel, Fabian Noguera, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro, Fernando Zuqui, Jorge Rodriguez, Matias Pellegrini (Franco Zapiola, min.64), Mauro Boselli and Leandro Diaz
Newell’s Old Boys:Ramiro Macagno, Tomas Jacob (Facundo Mansilla, min.76), Willer Ditta, Gustavo Velazquez, Cristian Lema, Leonel Vangioni, Juan Sforza (Marcos Portillo, min.88), Julian Fernandez, Francisco Agustin Gonzalez (Juan Fernando Garro, min.63), Ramiro Sordo (Luciano Cingolani, min.88) and Juan Manuel Garcia (Genaro Rossi, min.76)
Stadium:Estadio Ciudad de La Plata
Goals:Ramiro Sordo (0-1, min. 57) and Juan Fernando Garro (0-2, min. 72)