Estudiantes 3-1 Lanús: Visitors left in trouble after another loss

Photo Credit: AP

Lanús on away loss to Estudiantes at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata on Tuesday. Both Estudiantes and Lanús arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Estudiantes were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 5-0 to River. Lanús had lost their previous match against Argentinos Juniors. Estudiantes are now in 19th place, with 30 points from 24 matches, while Lanús sit in 26th, with 20 points from 24.

Estudiantes found the net first, when Leandro Diaz gave them the lead on the 21 minute mark. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a second effort from Leandro Diaz just before half-time to secure a 2-0 win.

Estudiantes once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Mauro Boselli on the 75 minute mark. Lanús in turn, then responded on the 82 minute mark, grabbing the lead with an effort from Jose Sand, seing the match finish 3-1.

Substitutions for Estudiantes included Gonzalo Pineiro, Mauro Mendez, Leonardo Heredia, Blas Agustin Palavecino and Luciano Lollo for Franco Zapiola, Leandro Diaz, Benjamin Rollheiser, Mauro Boselli and Jorge Morel, respectively. Lanús brought on Jose Sand, Franco Orozco, Ignacio Cechi, Samuel Careaga and Lucas Varaldo, to replace Facundo Perez, Franco Troyansky, Luciano Boggio, Lautaro Acosta and Brian Blando.

There were bookings for Leonardo Godoy, Leandro Diaz, Benjamin Rollheiser and Jorge Morel from Estudiantes, and Facundo Perez, Yonathan Cabral and Ignacio Cechi, for Lanús.

Estudiantes will next play Defensa and Justicia away, with Lanús facing Patronato at home.

Technical card:
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy, Jorge Morel (Luciano Lollo, min.88), Fabian Noguera, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro, Benjamin Rollheiser (Leonardo Heredia, min.77), Jorge Rodriguez, Franco Zapiola (Gonzalo Pineiro, min.67), Leandro Diaz (Mauro Mendez, min.68) and Mauro Boselli (Blas Agustin Palavecino, min.87)
Lanús:Fernando Monetti, Leonel Di Placido, Matias Perez, Yonathan Cabral, Julian Aude, Tomas Belmonte, Luciano Boggio (Ignacio Cechi, min.77), Facundo Perez (Jose Sand, min.46), Lautaro Acosta (Samuel Careaga, min.77), Franco Troyansky (Franco Orozco, min.46) and Brian Blando (Lucas Varaldo, min.86)
Stadium:Estadio Ciudad de La Plata
Goals:Leandro Diaz (1-0, min. 21), Leandro Diaz (2-0, min. 40), Mauro Boselli (3-0, min. 75) and Jose Sand (3-1, min. 82)