Estudiantes 2-2 Central Córdoba: Visitors recover from slow start to earn a point

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Estudiantes and Central Córdoba were held to a 2-2 draw at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata. Both teams came from defeats in their previous league games. Estudiantes were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 2-1 to Arsenal de Sarandi. Central Córdoba lost 2-1 in the last match they played against Argentinos Juniors. After today’s result, both teams are on 8 points and sit in 19th and 16th places respectively after 7 matches.

Estudiantes started the match well, when Leandro Diaz gave Estudiantes the lead, 11 minutes in. Estudiantes looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Manuel Castro, 36 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However, Central Córdoba just before halftime hit back though thanks to a Gonzalo Torres goal, which saw the first half end 2-1.

Central Córdoba took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Alejandro Martinez at the 67 minute mark. The final result, Estudiantes 2, Central Córdoba 2.

Substitutions for Estudiantes included Benjamin Rollheiser, Leonardo Heredia and Pablo Piatti for Franco Zapiola, Luciano Lollo and Manuel Castro, repectively. Central Córdoba replaced Gonzalo Torres, Rodrigo Montes, Nicolas Linares and Nahuel Banegas with Nicolas Leguizamon, Jose Gomez, Enzo Kalinski and Gonzalo Torres.

There were bookings for Leandro Diaz and Emanuel Mas from Estudiantes. For Central Córdoba, Cristopher Toselli and Francisco Gonzalez Metilli saw yellow.

Estudiantes will next play CA Tigre away, with Central Córdoba facing Patronato at home.

Technical card:
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy, Agustin Rogel, Luciano Lollo (Leonardo Heredia, min.68), Fabian Noguera, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro (Pablo Piatti, min.82), Jorge Rodriguez, Fernando Zuqui, Franco Zapiola (Benjamin Rollheiser, min.59) and Leandro Diaz
Central Córdoba:Cristopher Toselli, Ivan Ramirez, Jose Gomez (Rodrigo Montes, min.46), Fabio Pereyra, Alan Barrionuevo, Jonathan Bay, Alejandro Martinez, Enzo Kalinski (Nicolas Linares, min.81), Jesus Miguel Soraire, Nicolas Leguizamon (Gonzalo Torres, min.25) and Francisco Gonzalez Metilli
Stadium:Estadio Ciudad de La Plata
Goals:Leandro Diaz (1-0, min. 11), Manuel Castro (2-0, min. 36), Gonzalo Torres (2-1, min. 45) and Alejandro Martinez (2-2, min. 67)