Estudiantes 3-1 Barracas C.: Estudiantes snap winless streak

Photo Credit: AP

Barracas C. on away loss to Estudiantes at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata on Thursday. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Estudiantes were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 2-1 to CA Tigre. Barracas C., on the other hand, had lost their previous match against Argentinos Juniors. As the table looks today, Estudiantes and Barracas C. are 16th, (11 points) and 21st, (9 points), spots respectively, after 9 matches.

Estudiantes started strongly in the first half, when Leandro Diaz found the net at the 11 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Ivan Tapia equalised for Barracas C. in the 21st minute, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Estudiantes staged a comeback in the second half, when Benjamin Rollheiser found the net, 53 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Pablo Piatti made it 3-1 at the 83 minute mark with a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Estudiantes included Franco Zapiola and Leonardo Heredia for Benjamin Rollheiser and Pablo Piatti, repectively. Barracas C. brought on Maximiliano Rodriguez, Jonatan Blanco, Juan Manuel Vazquez, Pablo Mouche and Cristian Colman, to replace Facundo Mater, Carlos Alfredo Arce, Brian Calderara, Brian Blasi and Neri Bandiera.

There were bookings for Jorge Morel and Pablo Piatti from Estudiantes. For Barracas C., Carlos Alfredo Arce, Bruno Sepulveda and Jonatan Blanco saw yellow.

Estudiantes will next play Boca away, with Barracas C. facing Patronato at home.

Technical card:
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy, Jorge Rodriguez, Luciano Lollo, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro, Fernando Zuqui, Jorge Morel, Pablo Piatti (Leonardo Heredia, min.84), Leandro Diaz and Benjamin Rollheiser (Franco Zapiola, min.76)
Barracas C.:Maximiliano Gagliardo, Brian Blasi (Pablo Mouche, min.71), Braian Salvareschi, Gonzalo Ezequiel Paz, Juan Ignacio Diaz, Facundo Mater (Maximiliano Rodriguez, min.46), Carlos Alfredo Arce (Jonatan Blanco, min.62), Ivan Tapia, Brian Calderara (Juan Manuel Vazquez, min.63), Neri Bandiera (Cristian Colman, min.80) and Bruno Sepulveda
Stadium:Estadio Ciudad de La Plata
Goals:Leandro Diaz (1-0, min. 11), Ivan Tapia (1-1, min. 21), Benjamin Rollheiser (2-1, min. 53) and Pablo Piatti (3-1, min. 83)